Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:55 AM
driver49 driver49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Default Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and MacOS?

I am taking a class at a local college in ProTools and that makes me eligible for the Academic version.

I'm a recent convert to the MacOS, in my case a MacBook 2.16GHz/2GB with OSX.4.1

I also have a Dell XPS desktop --3GHz, 1GB, running WinXP Pro SP2.

I understand that the package for the Academic version includes BOTH a Windows and a Mac installation.

The question is: will I be able to run the program on BOTH platforms, or will I have to make a choice between one or the other?

Thanks,

--PS
__________________
"The difficult we do right away, the impossible takes slightly longer." -- Philo T. Farnsworth
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2007, 11:04 AM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,599
Default Re: Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and MacOS?

The Pro Tools Academic iLok license authorizes both Mac and Windows versions. You can install the software on both platforms, and just move your iLok USB key back and forth to whichever computer you want to use.
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2007, 11:12 AM
driver49 driver49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and Mac

Great, that's just the answer I was hoping for. Here's a follow up:

So, sometime this fall, I get rid of the Windows dinosaur and replace it with, say, an iMac or a MacPro. Can I install the Mac version of that program on both the MacBook AND the iMac or Pro, and run it from both machines assuming I move the iLok USB key from one to the other?

Thanks,

--PS
__________________
"The difficult we do right away, the impossible takes slightly longer." -- Philo T. Farnsworth
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-31-2007, 03:27 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and Mac

Yes. I do the same, installing the program on my G5, Powerbook, MINI, Dell laptop. The interface and the iLok move to any machine and it's good-to-go!
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:07 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and Mac

if you are getting one of the package w/ an interface there is no iLok, unless you want to use extra plug-ins

you can install the software on as many computer that you have that are capable of running the software, you are restricted to only running it one one computer at a time (the one that has your iLok and/or interface)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:15 PM
driver49 driver49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and Mac

Quote:
you are restricted to only running it one one computer at a time (the one that has your iLok and/or interface)
Ummm... what exactly is the difference between the "iLok" and the "interface"? I mean, I get how the iLok works -- plug in a USB key, pretty straightforward. But how does the "interface" work? Some kind of software gizmo?

Thanks,

--PS
__________________
"The difficult we do right away, the impossible takes slightly longer." -- Philo T. Farnsworth
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-31-2007, 09:49 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and Mac

the interface is the box that houses your ADCs and DACs ( Analog to Digital Converter and Digital to Analog Converter)
you can not use Pro Tools w/o an interface
so this:
http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_u...cKit-main.html
or this:
http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_u...cKit-main.html

the $149 software only requires an iLok and a supported interface
most of these work
http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=...bileinterfaces
plus some others
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-01-2007, 05:50 AM
driver49 driver49 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and Mac

Thank you, Craig F, for taking the time to help this newbie through the wilderness...

Quote:
the interface is the box that houses your ADCs and DACs ( Analog to Digital Converter and Digital to Analog Converter)
you can not use Pro Tools w/o an interface
Oh... THAT interface! Right. Duh.

Quote:
the $149 software only requires an iLok and a supported interface
most of these work
http://www.m-audio.com/index.php?do=...bileinterfaces
plus some others
Well, as fate would have it, I already have a Mobile Pre USB. So now all I need is the software with the iLok. I think my school is supposed to have it in the bookstore.

I note that the dealers listed on the DigiDesign/ProTools website all offer the hardware/software bundles like you pointed out. If my school bookstore doesn't have what I need, do you have any idea where I can find an online source for the $149 software-only package?

Thanks again,

--PS
__________________
"The difficult we do right away, the impossible takes slightly longer." -- Philo T. Farnsworth
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2007, 09:48 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and Mac

M-Powered Academic needs to use an M-Powered interface and it DOES come with an iLok. Both the interface and iLok are required for the program to open.

This is different than ProTools LE!! PTLE only needs the interface. An iLok is necessary for PTLE to use 3rd party plugins.

You can get SOFTWARE ONLY from THESE GUYS!.
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-05-2007, 06:01 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Academic Version - License Good for BOTH Windows and Mac

Quote:
M-Powered Academic needs to use an M-Powered interface and it DOES come with an iLok. Both the interface and iLok are required for the program to open.

This is different than ProTools LE!! PTLE only needs the interface. An iLok is necessary for PTLE to use 3rd party plugins.

You can get SOFTWARE ONLY from THESE GUYS!.
Not totally correct. The 2 bundles do not need an iLok, and I have a Mobil Pre Academic bundle
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can my fiancee purchase an academic license for me? flowetic Pro Tools 11 11 02-15-2014 02:04 AM
pro tools academic license? cananball Pro Tools 9 1 03-05-2012 03:30 PM
Is there a difference between the PT9 crossover license and the academic Version? Violet 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-30-2010 10:52 AM
Academic version and Retail Version???? HELP dmitry83 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 2 03-09-2006 04:30 AM
PT Version 3.4, MacOS 9.04 davewest01 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-26-2000 02:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com