Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2006, 02:18 PM
pezguy pezguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cameron Park, CA
Posts: 97
Default midnam and middev files

I have read the manual regarding the middev and midnam files. The middev seems to be difficult to edit properly. Is there a place to download updated versions of these files? I have an AKAI MPD24 and a M-audio Axion 49 I would like to add to the MIDI Studio setup.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2006, 06:20 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: midnam and middev files

The .middev files can be obtained from spkguitar's web site. Link






filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2006, 06:26 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: midnam and middev files

They are both controllers only, are they not? Since they have no MIDI patch names to change, you don't need the midnam files. Adding them to MIDI Studio Setup will only make them easier and more recognizable to select, and all you really need to do to make that happen is to create a new device in MIDI Studio setup and give it the proper name.

If you really want to, you can try my Online middev Generator, though it's not really necessary for either of those devices.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2006, 11:37 PM
pezguy pezguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cameron Park, CA
Posts: 97
Default Re: midnam and middev files

You are correct they are both controllers however it is easier for me to read the midi ins and outs with the name of the device instead of just the port name and channel. It just helps my workflow. Thanks so much for the assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-20-2006, 05:25 PM
jarloose jarloose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Default Re: midnam and middev files

i went the link for the middev generator. i found all the values necessary to fill in the blanks except 3. im using a yamaha motif6. i also spoke tech at yamaha and they didnt know what info should go here nor where i could find it. i check the data list and midi implementation charts and i still am at a loss.

i verified these values to be correct with tech, but what about the rest? can you help?
manufacturer: yamaha
model: motif6
can route:????
minimum value:10
maximum vaule:65
default value:????
base value:??????
receives
max channel:16
mtc: yes
clock:yes

transmits
max channel:16
mtc:yes
clock:yes
can you also verify these values to be correnct and give me the missing values or at least point me in the right directions
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-20-2006, 06:01 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: midnam and middev files

Quote:
default value:
Can be found on the unit itself ...check the manual for ID Number (SysEx).





filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midnam, Middev and SMF Files DNEW32 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-08-2011 09:33 AM
Midnam and Middev files Servon Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 01-22-2010 10:59 AM
.midnam / .middev files harosha 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-09-2009 12:36 PM
Creating/Editing .middev and .midnam files in Windows harosha 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-31-2008 03:37 PM
midnam/middev xml files mdspike 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-29-2004 09:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com