Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:05 AM
joelnewport joelnewport is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default 2 consistant crashes with PT8

Over all, I am pretty good, but I have a couple of things that I am concerned about.

Protools 8 crashes when I shut it down every time. Not when I close sessions, just when I quit the program. It doesn't really bother me much except I have to wait for the crash before I can move on.... Do I need to be concerned about this? Will it cause more problems with the system if it doesn't get fixed?

Also, the digi software updater crashes on launch. I can open it from the help menu and it will open and check for updates, but then it will crash on close.

Other than those 2 things I think I am in pretty good shape compared to others.

System is:
OS 10.5.6
Dual 2.5 GHz Power PC G5
2.5 GB DDR SDRAM

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Have done the usual stuff but hope to avoid a new install.

Thanks!

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:29 AM
Bart HLH Bart HLH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brecht, Belgium
Posts: 91
Default Re: 2 consistant crashes with PT8

My PT crashes when I quit without closing the session first. I close the session before quitting to avoid a crash.

Greetz,
Bart
__________________
www.highlakehill.be
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:32 AM
joelnewport joelnewport is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: 2 consistant crashes with PT8

Thanks Bart,

I tried that and I crash either way. It's amazing to me how one application can run so differently on different systems.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:35 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,679
Default Re: 2 consistant crashes with PT8

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelnewport View Post
Over all, I am pretty good, but I have a couple of things that I am concerned about.

Protools 8 crashes when I shut it down every time. Not when I close sessions, just when I quit the program. It doesn't really bother me much except I have to wait for the crash before I can move on.... Do I need to be concerned about this? Will it cause more problems with the system if it doesn't get fixed?

Also, the digi software updater crashes on launch. I can open it from the help menu and it will open and check for updates, but then it will crash on close.

Other than those 2 things I think I am in pretty good shape compared to others.

System is:
OS 10.5.6
Dual 2.5 GHz Power PC G5
2.5 GB DDR SDRAM

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Have done the usual stuff but hope to avoid a new install.

Thanks!

Joel
Hi,

10.5.6 has not been qualified! why are you using it?

Most likely cause of your problem would be a plug! did you install third party plugins fresh or carry them over from 7.4? try removing all "non PT8-included" plugs from the plugins folder and see if it still crashes when closing down.

Have you tried trashing all the prefs?


Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:48 AM
joelnewport joelnewport is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: 2 consistant crashes with PT8

Hi Chris,

I'm using 10.5.6 cause that is what downloaded from apple. It was automatic. I don't know how to dumb it down.

All my plugs work fine... I only have 2 that are not digi but I can try your suggestion as that might be it. I have also trashed prefs.

If it is an incompatibility with 10.5.6 then I will just wait for a patch as everything else works fine so far.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:15 PM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,679
Default Re: 2 consistant crashes with PT8

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelnewport View Post
Hi Chris,

I'm using 10.5.6 cause that is what downloaded from apple. It was automatic. I don't know how to dumb it down.

All my plugs work fine... I only have 2 that are not digi but I can try your suggestion as that might be it. I have also trashed prefs.

If it is an incompatibility with 10.5.6 then I will just wait for a patch as everything else works fine so far.
Hi,

Disable automatic updates from system prefs! also it is always recommended to use the combo updaters and not use the incremental updates that auto update enforces! You can't go back to 10.5.5 without a fresh install. but running the combo updater for 10.5.6 may help.

I guess your problem is not a show stopper! but i remember having a similar problem a while back and did effect the last saved version of the session i was running.

Has this problem been happening from the first installation or did it develop after a while?

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2008, 12:26 PM
joelnewport joelnewport is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: 2 consistant crashes with PT8

Chris,

I will disable auto updates. Didn't cross my mind to do that earlier. This crash has been happening from day one. I save and shut out of my sessions before I quit protools and have not lost any data. (yet!)

Thanks for your input.

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:33 PM
SessionKat SessionKat is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Daly City, CA U.S.A.
Posts: 646
Default Re: 2 consistant crashes with PT8

Joel,

Curious what happens if you try to launch Pro tools after the crash on quit ( w/o restarting the computer). By any chance, if you get a "-600 error" let me know. I may be able to decipher something.

-tv
__________________
Tim vdB
Avid Audio

"There's a fine line between stupid and clever."
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2008, 01:42 PM
joelnewport joelnewport is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Default Re: 2 consistant crashes with PT8

Hi Tim,

No error. I can launch PT after a crash no problem. No need to restart the computer.

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2009, 01:51 AM
Nick Camaron Nick Camaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of Alpha Centauri, MW
Posts: 155
Default Re: 2 consistant crashes with PT8

I know this issue too. Couldn´t even close a third party plugin without PT crashing. Don´t save a session with a problem causing plugin open.
I moved the bad plugin to the unused Folder and protools didn´t crash anymore.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Consistant 10.1.2 Crash! notedmusic Windows 6 05-24-2012 06:04 PM
CPU Spikes in Pro Tools 8.0.5 with consistant symptoms geetar777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 05-31-2011 09:20 AM
waveform height not consistant between tracks stevedresser83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-26-2010 01:33 PM
consistant audio recording volume. BxThree1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-06-2005 05:27 PM
Consistant System Crashes? I may have a solution. dwacker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-28-2005 10:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com