Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-16-2008, 11:40 AM
TDelmar TDelmar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Default How...Create New session with Session Template

We are begining to record our church services using PT-HD. We have our Pro-Tools inputs 107+ mic split from sanctuary. The Pro-Tools session file (icon) is on the desktop; this "template" has all our settings for PT channel inputs(ie.compressor settings,efx etc.) How do I create a new session file folder but use the "template" for the session file; without erasing the session file icon for later use. I want to make sure that all the audio files follow (linked to) the newly recorded service.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-16-2008, 12:02 PM
w3ird w3ird is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 29
Default Re: How...Create New session with Session Template

You may [File/Save a copy as] in a new directory, or Simply save your project as..., in another folder, and verify that every [Setup/Disk Allocation] track is going to your newly made project/directory.
I would also suggest that you put on your template's Read Only attribute by right clicking the PTF file, clicking Properties and selecting the Read Only Option. This will protect the original file from being overwritten. Remember that you will have to remove this Read only option to modify your template.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2008, 08:03 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: How...Create New session with Session Template

another way is to apple-I get info on your file.
when the dialogue pops up check the box that says "stationary pad".
then each time you open that session you are prompted whether you want to edit your stationary pad ( template ) or create a new session.

2 important notes...
do not double clic this session icon; it will only copy itself, you need to drag and drop it onto to your pt alias in the dock,
and be sure to set disk allocation once it's open.
b.o.l.
e

e.p.s. it appears all this gets much easier in pt8...
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2008, 11:54 PM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: How...Create New session with Session Template

"Import Session data" and tell it to leave the audio behind, or just clear the bin and tell it to "REMOVE" not delete selected. You can prompt it to not put the data in.
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-2008, 03:45 PM
Dr. J Dr. J is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: All Over
Posts: 354
Default Re: How...Create New session with Session Template

I believe both of these were already mentioned, but i'm explaining it in my own qwerky way, to be sure you understand.

If your just trying to have the same tracks, their names, plug ins, and i/o routing there are two ways to do it.

1) You just create your perfect session with no audio in it, and save it. You can call it "template". Then every-time you open a new session, or work with a session someone else created, you can click import session data, find "template" on you hard drive and click "do not import audio" and it will instantly pull in all the settings from "template" into your current file. NOTE: you can do this before, or after the recording is done. However, in your case, it would seem to make sense to do it before, so your tracks re all labeled correctly during recording....

2) The way we do it, is we have a session set up perfectly with all our basic settings saved as Template. Then you go into the get info for that session and clicked stationary pad and lock. Then every-time we start a new session we just open "Template" and because it is a locked stationary pad it will ask, do you want to edit the stationary pad, or start a new session and we click start a new session then it asks for the name, in your case you may call it, "service 10-26-08" then it opens a new session with that name and the settings you have in the template file.

If you ever want to change settings you open "Template" again, but click edit Stationary Pad and it actually opens the template file.

This is what we've done for years in our studios. I think this is the best way to do it. The first way is used mostly when we receive PT sessions from others and are mixing them, then we can easily pull in our favorite "basic" settings and get off o a quicker start with the mix. But if we're initiating the session ourselves, we just open the template and save a new session with the song name...
Hope that helps..



jay riggs
__________________
jay@jayriggs.com
www.jayriggs.com
www.fifty-fiftymusic.com


Turn Me Up!™ – Sign Up Now to Bring Dynamics Back to Music (www.TurnMeUp.org)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2008, 09:29 PM
hki hki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: La/Helsinki
Posts: 327
Default Re: How...Create New session with Session Template

Dr J,
Excellent Explanation Endeed (had to )

By the way when did you go from an afro wearing baller to Sound editor/engineer? (had to..again )
__________________
"It is better to remain silent and thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubt".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Create Session from Template" --> not showing CR92 Pro Tools 11 0 12-24-2013 07:05 PM
How do you create a Session template ? kt90 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 02-13-2009 03:05 PM
How do I create a Mix or Session Template? dougied 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-17-2008 06:38 AM
How do you create a session template in protools7? JAKE @ LOUD Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-24-2006 09:43 AM
How to create a "template" session ? David Every 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-12-2005 08:53 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com