Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2002, 06:08 AM
Bassguitar Bassguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 12
Default MIDI drum programming/editing assistance please!

Hi Folks,
I've finally figured out how to program, record, and edit my Roland DR-660 drum machine using MIDI control in Digi 001. (Thank god!)

Question is...when programming the drum machine using MIDI in the EDIT window, how do I remove all those extra MIDI (piano) keys that aren't assigned to a drum? It's total pain to have to scroll up and down in such a tiny space to edit drum sequences. I've tried enlarging the window and it still sucks. If I can limit the view to only the keys I care about, I know it will be easier to use. Any thoughts?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2002, 01:55 PM
Lawrence Arps Lawrence Arps is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Greymouth, NewZealand
Posts: 131
Default Re: MIDI drum programming/editing assistance please!

Although you cant remove keys in the edit window, you can re-assign the note num ers on your drum machine! Just decide where you would like them to appear, re-assign the numbers and bingo!!!.
__________________
Lawrence
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2002, 02:00 PM
Bassguitar Bassguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 12
Default Re: MIDI drum programming/editing assistance please!

Lawrence! You are right! Why didn't I think of that? I will give it a shot.

Thank you!

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2002, 04:37 AM
j20056 j20056 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 690
Default Re: MIDI drum programming/editing assistance please!

Hey BassGuitar, we're fellows. I also play bass, and I program my Roland DR-770 via MIDI on PT as well... Good luck! BTW, you can send a MIDI Program instruction at any point in the song to switch drum sets (the 770 is setup to react to a Program message by switching drum sets, not patterns, I assume the 660 does the same). So if you program your own drums sets (or subsets inside a song), you can use MIDI in PT to switch back and forth to different tones inside a song. You may find this useful, although sets have so many instruments that one big set with everything may do the trick, but then, you'll have notes all over the keyboard.
__________________
Digi002 Rack
Mac Pro 8-core 3Ghz
8gb RAM
3X 500GB 7,200 SATA DRIVES
OSX 10.5.7
PTLE 8.0cs3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-17-2002, 10:56 AM
Bassguitar Bassguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 12
Default Re: MIDI drum programming/editing assistance please!

Thanks JS, that's more sophisticated than I am currently using it right now, but a useful suggestion. As I adapt to this more, I may need to tap your expertise again.
Thanks!
Ken
Bassguitar@attbi.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need assistance in programming 11 rack Paul Alvarez Eleven Rack 12 01-15-2011 04:37 PM
editing drum loops in PT MIDI timos MIDI 2 01-01-2011 01:09 AM
Drum machine programming vs PT midi Dopamine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-16-2006 09:08 AM
MIDI Programming/Drum Machine NannerPuddin' 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-26-2006 09:19 AM
is pro tools midi up to drum programming ? Shaun.O MIDI 2 11-15-2001 02:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com