Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-04-2020, 12:43 PM
oldskool oldskool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23
Default Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List

I am having a problem in a session in PT2020.11U, where selecting a clip in the edit window does not scroll to and select it's counterpart in the clip list.

This particular session was imported from an AAF and is audio for a feature film. The "clip list doesn't follow edit selection" problem does not manifest in other sessions on the same system. Preferences for "Clip list selection follows Edit selection" are properly selected.

Strangely a small subset of the clips in the edit window do select their counterpart in the clips list. I can't figure out what is unique about these particular clips.

Not having this workflow is going to make this project almost impossible. Has anyone solved this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-04-2020, 07:55 PM
EdgarRothermich's Avatar
EdgarRothermich EdgarRothermich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Hollywood
Posts: 280
Default Re: Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List

Maybe some link information was lost when you imported from the AAF file.

When you right-click on one of those Audio Clips on the Track Lane and select the Matching Alternatives submenu from the Contextual Menu, do you see the corresponding Audio Clip listed with a checkmark (as it should)? If not, when you select a different Clip and then select the correct Clip, would that solve the problem for that Clip and re-establish the connection with the proper "follow" behavior?
__________________
Edgar Rothermich
Author of "Pro Tools 2020 - How it Works"
from the Graphically Enhanced Manuals (GEM) series
http://DingDingMusic.com/
YouTube Channel Music Tech Explained https://YouTube.com/c/MusicTechExplained/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2020, 09:09 PM
oldskool oldskool is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 23
Default Re: Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List

Thanks for the reply Edgar. If I restrict the matching criteria to clip start I am eventually returned several candidates for the matching clip, of which one is the correct clip that matches the original clip in the track lane. However this still doesn't select and make visible the clip in the clip list.

That's where the problem remains, because I still can't export the clip as an audio region which is my desired end goal. However I am using a work-around. I am copying the desired clips to a new track, which I then import into a new session and they are copied to the the new session's audio files folder, so I have all the sought after files in one place.

Last edited by oldskool; 12-04-2020 at 10:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2021, 07:41 PM
lufagan lufagan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Boston
Posts: 1
Default Re: Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List

I’ve been having the same issue on occasion. One other work around is to consolidate the clips, doing this should generate a new clip listing to appear in the list and allow you to export it. If anyone know why this happens it would be great. I’ve never had it happen in my own work only sessions sent to me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-25-2021, 09:54 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,679
Default Re: Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List

There is a setting in Preferences>Editing that selecting a Clip selects the Clip in the Clip List and vice-versa.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2021, 08:28 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,128
Default Re: Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List

For me, the clips list has never scrolled to a selected clip(and I was not aware of a way to make that happen). I have always manually scrolled to find my highlighted clip. Also, when you say "clip", do you mean you selected an entire clip(with boundaries at each end), or you are selecting a portion of a larger clip? Just clicking to highlight any clip has always highlighted it on the clips list here
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-26-2021, 09:59 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List

Shot in the dark : RELINK the affected clips.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-26-2021, 10:43 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List

In the clip list, is "show auto-created" selected ?

As soon as the original file from the AAF is shortened/lengthend by a minimal amount, it could be auto-created.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060

Last edited by joachim; 09-26-2021 at 11:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2021, 01:43 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 339
Default Re: Selecting a clip in Edit window fails to select clip in Clip List

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
I am having a problem in a session in PT2020.11U, where selecting a clip in the edit window does not scroll to and select it's counterpart in the clip list.

This particular session was imported from an AAF and is audio for a feature film. The "clip list doesn't follow edit selection" problem does not manifest in other sessions on the same system. Preferences for "Clip list selection follows Edit selection" are properly selected.

Strangely a small subset of the clips in the edit window do select their counterpart in the clips list. I can't figure out what is unique about these particular clips.

Not having this workflow is going to make this project almost impossible. Has anyone solved this?
There is a chance you are selecting a single leg from a multichannel clip. Like production sound or left/right of a stereo file. In this case the clip will not highlight in the bin. You can expand all files by alt+clicking the triangle in the bin clips. Also make sure 'show auto created' is enabled.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Isue when dragging clip from clip bin to edit window silky38 Pro Tools 2019 2 06-22-2019 06:20 AM
Keyboard Shortcut to Select the Next Clip in Clip List TomMxEdit Pro Tools 12 1 02-27-2017 11:52 AM
Issue dropping more than one clip into the Edit Window with Clip Transparency ON arb232 Pro Tools 12 0 02-10-2016 06:01 PM
Edit window moves on selecting clip tooold Pro Tools 11 3 12-02-2014 12:13 PM
Selecting multiple files in Clip List doesn't select them in the Timeline vslourenco Post - Surround - Video 7 08-11-2014 07:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com