Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2011, 11:00 AM
Michael_Knight Michael_Knight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Odenton MD
Posts: 91
Default Newbie Question-How to increase the volume of recording

I'm new to protools so I just wanted to check before I made any changes if after doing a recording to raise the volume of it, you just go to the mix window and raise the fader to increase the volume level. When I recorded the track all levels were green and didn't go into the yellow. I read somewhere that if your levels are low you can raise them in the mix but if the signal is too hot your mix is screwed so that's one of the reasons I left them low. I know its a dumb question but unfortunately my level of protools knowledge is low at the moment...I did by the protools 101 book though so hopefully I won't have many more dumb questions
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-22-2011, 11:17 AM
mattmc mattmc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Newbie Question-How to increase the volume of recording

I too am also a bit of a newbie but I think I can still manage to help. You can simply raise the Volume slider, but another option is to open the insert "Compressor/Limiter Dyn 3" under Dynamics and turn up the red Gain knob. This will also raise the volume of your track. Hope this helps! :)

PS: You're right not to go too high. Mid-yellow is a great place to be.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-22-2011, 11:19 AM
stickboymusic stickboymusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 121
Default Re: Newbie Question-How to increase the volume of recording

You dont want levels to clip (go red) but below this is "generally" fine.... keeping them very low (which i assume in your case) is kind of ok in that you wont get clipping or distortion.... however when you raise the level, you will also be raising the amount of noise (assuming you arent recording in a perfectly silent room?) so its nest to keep them at a high level but below clipping (in its simplest form)

If you want to raise a level and "not" use the fader, you can click on the waveform so its selected then click "audiosuite" on the top menu and select "gain" and increase it..... keep an eye on levels to make sure it isnt increasing too much.... ctrl+z to undo if you do
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2011, 04:35 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,131
Default Re: Newbie Question-How to increase the volume of recording

Getting them into the yellow on the meter is hot enough. If something is really low, first of all, do you NEED to bring it up(no sense bringing up level on something that will get turned down when you mix). If I record a track too soft, I will usually just highlight the track, grab the AudioSuite GAIN plugin and boost it 4-5db. When you start adding plugins, most EQ and compressor plugins have an output level that works fine for boosting an entire track. The most important thing here is to record clean and quiet. Recording at 24 bit yields a lot more headroom than 16 bit so that is my usual setting(but you will need dither to burn audio CD's from 24 bit sessions). BTW, the AudioSuite GAIN plugin is handy for leveling out a performance. Say the singer was too soft on a word or phrase; rather than turn up the fader there, I will boost the region so it fits in the mix better(this has the benefit of keeping a more consistent amount of compression too-assuming you have a compressor plugin going).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-23-2011, 02:19 PM
Michael_Knight Michael_Knight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Odenton MD
Posts: 91
Default Re: Newbie Question-How to increase the volume of recording

just some background info.. the project I'm working on is a mixtape, so there's only 2 audio tracks. One that's coming from my serato system and the other is a vocal (small intro to the mixtape) I think I only need to raise the one that's coming from the serato. I'll try out the audio suite and let you all know how it goes. Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
recording track question - newbie cablet macOS 3 05-04-2013 10:26 AM
Recording Midi...Newbie Question JonnyGinese MIDI 3 09-23-2009 09:30 AM
Newbie PTHD Recording question.. acmost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-01-2007 05:45 AM
Newbie Help Recording Volume batchmister1 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 06-17-2007 10:50 PM
Newbie question on editing volume Dawgdays Tips & Tricks 7 09-03-2006 12:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com