Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 02-22-2011, 11:00 AM

Default Newbie Question-How to increase the volume of recording

I'm new to protools so I just wanted to check before I made any changes if after doing a recording to raise the volume of it, you just go to the mix window and raise the fader to increase the volume level. When I recorded the track all levels were green and didn't go into the yellow. I read somewhere that if your levels are low you can raise them in the mix but if the signal is too hot your mix is screwed so that's one of the reasons I left them low. I know its a dumb question but unfortunately my level of protools knowledge is low at the moment...I did by the protools 101 book though so hopefully I won't have many more dumb questions
Old 02-22-2011, 11:17 AM

Default Re: Newbie Question-How to increase the volume of recording

I too am also a bit of a newbie but I think I can still manage to help. You can simply raise the Volume slider, but another option is to open the insert "Compressor/Limiter Dyn 3" under Dynamics and turn up the red Gain knob. This will also raise the volume of your track. Hope this helps! :)

PS: You're right not to go too high. Mid-yellow is a great place to be.
Old 02-22-2011, 11:19 AM

You dont want levels to clip (go red) but below this is "generally" fine.... keeping them very low (which i assume in your case) is kind of ok in that you wont get clipping or distortion.... however when you raise the level, you will also be raising the amount of noise (assuming you arent recording in a perfectly silent room?) so its nest to keep them at a high level but below clipping (in its simplest form)