Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:37 PM
Kuleone Kuleone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 59
Default Need help! 1622 or two 888/16

Just need some feedback from you guys. I need some extra inputs for my Protools until I could get my second 192 with an additional AD card. Would it be better to get a 1622? or two 888/16? to go along with my 192 I have now. I couldn't for any info on the 888/16, but I did notice they are very cheap on Ebay. In addition, could I use the white version of the 888 with the 192? Need to purchase soon.



Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:30 PM
PTLance PTLance is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Port Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 468
Default Re: Need help! 1622 or two 888/16

To put a 888 on a 192 legacy port it MUST be 888/24 the 16 bit one will not work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2006, 08:01 PM
ripple FX ripple FX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Indianapolis, IN USA
Posts: 435
Default Re: Need help! 1622 or two 888/16

The 1622 has 20 bit A/D converters, 16 balanced 1/4" inputs and 2 balanced 1/4" outputs.
Mine works perfectly with my 96i/o.
If you only need extra inputs, I'd recommend the 1622.
And it's very cost efficient.
__________________
http://www.ripplefx.com
Mac Pro 8 core 3.0GHz Harpertown
Magma PE6R4I - HD 3 Accel +1 Process
Control 24 - 96io - 1622
OSX 10.6.8 - PTHD 10.3.10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2006, 09:48 PM
MARVINBASS's Avatar
MARVINBASS MARVINBASS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Woodland Hills, CA. U.S.A.
Posts: 892
Default Re: Need help! 1622 or two 888/16

Why not just buy a 96i I/O?? It sounds better than the 1622.
__________________
My System is:
Mac Pro 3.2GHz 6 Core
32GB RAM
1- HDX
1 - Apogee Symphony Mk2 8x8
1 - HD 16x16 Interface
MOTU MTP/AV
------------------------------
Second System
Mac Pro 2013 3.5GHz 6-core Xeon E5-1650v2
32GB RAM
1 - HDX
1 - Avid Thunderbolt 3 Expansion Chassis
1 - HD 8X8 Interface

MARVINBASS Digital Audio, LLC
Ex PT Beta Tester
Woodland Hills, CA.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 4.3.2 and a 1622 E-an Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 10-15-2002 09:26 AM
1622 i/o aziz02 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-16-2001 06:41 AM
1622 Rocketlauncher Tips & Tricks 1 06-15-2000 11:25 AM
1622 Kurtstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-15-2000 07:09 AM
1622 upg Jam Studio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 02-02-2000 03:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com