Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-21-2021, 10:14 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,207
Default Re: How many people have wiped their computer and done a completely clean is installl

I am a hobbyist nowadays (previously project studio owner). Since I no longer have paying clients nor projects stacked up to the roof, I have the time to do a clean install most of the time. I'm on Protools Vanilla running on a MacBook Pro. I have a modest collection of plugins and virtual instruments so reinstalling is not too daunting. I understand for professional users and mission critical deadlines of studios, time is not always available. Add to that a massive inventory of 3rd party plugins and virtual instruments and the time commitment to do a clean install may not work for you.

Having said that, I can not tell you how many times a clean install has removed a nagging issue or glitch in Protools. I do admit that it does not identify the offending piece of code or plugin and simply overwrites the problem with a "non-corrupted" setup. If it were easy to identify the problem software and just remove it or reinstall it, that would be great. More often the time to identify the problem even takes longer than doing a clean install. Fortunately we have many able and technical folks here that try to troubleshoot the issue and provide solutions or workarounds so you are not alone trying to figure it out. Many with decades of experience with Protools and computers in general. They have saved me many times and I hopefully offer help to others along the way also.

The Protools ecosystem is complicated and honestly fraught with years of ongoing issues. Constant OS updates by Apple introduce changes even before Avid and 3rd party plugins have a chance to catch up, which keep the environment in flux. It is the nature of the platform. Don't get me wrong. I'm not a fanboy. I have in the past thrown in my vitriol towards Protools along with most of you. Their cost structure and business practices still leaves much to be desired. Despite all these challenges, I still find Protools to be my choice for a DAW and I still use it for making music as my hobby.

...Did Apple just release MacOS 11.6? Well time to do a clean install again.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.6 running Protools 2021.7
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-21-2021, 10:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,060
Default Re: How many people have wiped their computer and done a completely clean is installl

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
Did Apple just release MacOS 11.6? Well time to do a clean install again.
Yes and no, not this time. If you had a clean install of Big Sur already, do not bother. Monterey is right around the corner, that is when you want to wipe it.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-22-2021, 08:10 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 940
Default Re: How many people have wiped their computer and done a completely clean is installl

I always do a clean install onto a separate external drive (usually a Samsung T5). I install the OS onto the external drive, then boot from it and start installing software/plugins/etc. This lets me fully install and test the clean install and get it working 100% before cloning onto the internal drive.

I also keep a separate clone of each OS, so I'd have a backup of the previous install as well, but that does makes for a number of drives sitting around.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-25-2021, 09:22 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 439
Default Re: How many people have wiped their computer and done a completely clean is installl

OK I went for it, wiped my computer did a clean install of Big Sur… And over 1 1/2 days reinstalled everything from the websites so nothing is an old version… Fired it all up

And had the same problems… Sluggish, big black bar on the graphic screen popping up timeline acting strange in redrawing, watching multi crashes and spinning Beachball’s when I bounce out a track from the session with no plug-ins on the track right clicking bounce from the track name… Since I print back into the session

I suppose someone could say it’s one of your plug-in
But I have ableton with the same plug-ins and no problems
I think my hand is going to fall off from all the installs typing passwords copying and pasting licenses… I know everyone hates ilok
, but that certainly makes things easier

I thought I at least get a couple of days if not weeks of smooth sailing… But no
So if anyone wants to try this… My advice is save your time it’s really not worth it, and this is coming from someone who did it
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2021.7, MAC PRO 12 core 6,1 TRASHCAN with [count it] 64 GIG ram Big Sur, . TBolt Antelope 32+ Gen3... SSL Sigma summing, SMART Comp C1LA Charteroak eqp-1 etc etc.. all SSD's [samsungpro],

Last edited by Rectifried; 10-04-2021 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-26-2021, 12:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,060
Default Re: How many people have wiped their computer and done a completely clean is installl

Does this still happen if you throw all your plugins to unused folder?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-26-2021, 12:52 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: How many people have wiped their computer and done a completely clean is installl

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rectifried View Post
OK I went for it, wiped my computer did a clean install of Big Sur… And over 1 1/2 days reinstalled everything from the websites so nothing is an old version… Fired it all up

And had the same problems… Sluggish, big black bar on the graphic screen popping up timeline acting strange in redrawing, watching multi crashes and spinning Beachball’s when I bounce out a track from the session with no plug-ins on the track right clicking bounce from the track name… Since I print back into the session

I suppose someone could say it’s one of your plug-in
But I have ableton with the same plug-ins and no problems
I think my hand is going to fall off from all the installs typing passwords copying and pasting licenses… I know everyone hates a lock, but that certainly makes things easier

I thought I at least get a couple of days if not weeks of smooth sailing… But no
So if anyone wants to try this… My advice is save your time it’s really not worth it, and this is coming from someone who did it
Didn't you test-run PT at increments between installing stuff? Like, did PT run good with only fresh OS and basic PT installed? Then make a backup, then install some stuff, check if problems come back, and so on. That's the main point of this procedure, IMO.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-26-2021, 12:08 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 439
Default Re: How many people have wiped their computer and done a completely clean is installl

I’ve played that game several times, I’ve taken half my plug-ins out checked out things put some back… It’s a very long process… And honestly I use many of these plug-ins

If there was some weirdo small plugin thing
then I would say sure that’s the culprit but even reinstalling plug-ins it was random which one was the problem

I thought I caught one , took it out and then another one would happen and I put the first one back in that cause problems and then it was good
so it was a back-and-forth thing… Honestly all these plug-ins work in able 10 I don’t have other DAW‘s but I’m assuming they probably work pretty good in those as well…

I have a lot of plug-ins but not really in the scheme of things.. waves isotope some softube… If there was really a hair on fire problem those companies would’ve addressed it


Protools is just not a stable platform all the time for me.. it works... it’s an industry standard ...I really like it ....
but the beach balls coming at random times when there’s barely any plug-ins and then CPU meter pinned red flashing when maybe one or two things happen and it’s not always the same plug-ins I just throw my hands up


I get stuff done.. but by the end of the day Im 30 mins of restarts.. and having to slow way down with each move... adds up...
yes I commit..but 12core mac w 64 gigs of ram.. do I have to commit THAT much?... apparently with Pt!!! all for a mere 200 $ a year
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2021.7, MAC PRO 12 core 6,1 TRASHCAN with [count it] 64 GIG ram Big Sur, . TBolt Antelope 32+ Gen3... SSL Sigma summing, SMART Comp C1LA Charteroak eqp-1 etc etc.. all SSD's [samsungpro],
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Protools completely jacked my new computer kelco83 Pro Tools 11 16 02-27-2014 05:42 PM
Computer freezes completely dkroger Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 12-10-2010 09:25 AM
my computer cant seem to installl my hardware drivers properly djcalg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-20-2010 01:08 PM
computer completely frozen wedgewedge 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-03-2007 12:59 PM
Completely OT: help with my computer graphics?? murph16 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-26-2003 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com