Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2010, 09:54 PM
joe_04_04 joe_04_04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default plugins and signal path

Lots of people tend to have different orders in which they place their plugins to process audio. Is there any correct way? If I were to throw these plugins:

EQ
Compressor
Auto Tune (dont kill me for this)
De Esser
Delay
Reverb

-Onto a vocal track, what order would YOU put them in?

This is the order I have been using, but I have been questioning whether or not I should be putting Auto Tune (scarcely when needed) first in the path or 3rd...
__________________
2011 21.5 inch iMac
2.5 GHz quad-core intel core i5
16 gigs of ram
OS 10.8.4
Pro Tools 10/11
M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8r
BX8A's

Tons of software, lots of good mics, tons of storage space
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2010, 12:12 AM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: plugins and signal path

That's a very very loaded question and it's extremely subjective. And my answer to this is: There is no right or wrong answer on this. And I don't have any standard order. It depends on how I want it to sound. EDIT: To add to this I personally Render for Autotune or Melodyne.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2010, 12:41 AM
joe_04_04 joe_04_04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default Re: plugins and signal path

great answer, I knew someone would tell me this. It's very true that it's subjective, but there are some common orders I've seen. For instance, if your boosting eq, it would just make sense to place it after the compressor so that it isn't reduced by the compressor. If you're cutting eq, you should put it before because it would be harder to cut after its been boosted in the compressor...

these are just common things that people. Even though its a loaded question, there are quite a few out there who are ritualistic about there plug in order.

ps, isn't rendering equivalent to placing it first in line?
__________________
2011 21.5 inch iMac
2.5 GHz quad-core intel core i5
16 gigs of ram
OS 10.8.4
Pro Tools 10/11
M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8r
BX8A's

Tons of software, lots of good mics, tons of storage space
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-21-2010, 01:04 AM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: plugins and signal path

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_04_04 View Post
great answer, I knew someone would tell me this. It's very true that it's subjective, but there are some common orders I've seen. For instance, if your boosting eq, it would just make sense to place it after the compressor so that it isn't reduced by the compressor. If you're cutting eq, you should put it before because it would be harder to cut after its been boosted in the compressor...

these are just common things that people. Even though its a loaded question, there are quite a few out there who are ritualistic about there plug in order.

ps, isn't rendering equivalent to placing it first in line?
You're right and I personally put eq after the compressor regardless whether I add or take out personally. As far as rendering, it means to me that I actually record every move on the autotune or melodyne plugin to a different track then slide the regions back in time to match the original track. I never use autotune in "auto" mode. I always go into graphical mode. Yes I realize it takes longer but every client is pleased that I take the time on LD and BGs which in the end, I get paid for that. If you wanna check out something that I'm in the middle of doing, check out: http://www.wookiegarcia.com
I recorded everything but only mixed "Fortune Cookie" which is still not done. Ld vocal too much reverb, too much organ and BG's not enough level in certain parts. The other song that is still in progress that I'm mixing is "Special" I'm pointing this out as an example of how I do vocals. You will hear a difference with the other songs that are mixed by someone else. He has a more modern style sound than me.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-21-2010, 01:49 AM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: plugins and signal path

Again the above thread is very subjective as to how things sound. I'm am very "old" school style as the mixes will show.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-21-2010, 10:18 AM
Chickenhawked Chickenhawked is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 60
Default Re: plugins and signal path

I do EQ (subtractive, high pass filter) compressor, EQ (additive), de-esser (if needed). Reverb and delay on a send to aux track that have the reverb and delay plug-ins. (One fader each) It's easier on your computer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-21-2010, 12:06 PM
joe_04_04 joe_04_04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default Re: plugins and signal path

yeah, I understand what rendering is. You're actually creating a brand new audio file with the effect written into it. Im just saying that it's equivalent to putting melodyne or auto tune first in the chain.

Ill check our your music also

ps...Im a younger guy, but I really really appreciate the old school methods and wish I grew up knowing them.

to chickenhawked...

yeah, I like to save my cpu also. But i dont usually use sends, I just route all of vocal outputs to a vocal sum that has a delay and then a reverb one it. I like doing this because I can mix all the vocals to liking then adjust the vocal sum and move all the vox up or down along with the effects instead of having to adjust each send if I have to adjust the vocals. The only time I use sends is if I want different amounts of delay and reverb on each track.
__________________
2011 21.5 inch iMac
2.5 GHz quad-core intel core i5
16 gigs of ram
OS 10.8.4
Pro Tools 10/11
M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8r
BX8A's

Tons of software, lots of good mics, tons of storage space
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-21-2010, 12:29 PM
scenicrecords scenicrecords is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 177
Default Re: plugins and signal path

Quote:
I like doing this because I can mix all the vocals to liking then adjust the vocal sum and move all the vox up or down along with the effects instead of having to adjust each send if I have to adjust the vocals.
Just a tip - if your sends are set up without clicking PRE (pre fader), as you adjust the signal of the vocal on the track fader, the amount of signal you are sending to the bus is adjusted too. I set up sends to unity gain, then lower the Reverb Aux as needed, and adjust the sends if necessary.
__________________
Dell Studio 1555 Laptop, Intel Core Duo T6600 2.2GHz, 4GB RAM
Windows 7 64-bit
Pro Tools M-Powered 8.0.4cs2
M-Audio Firewire 410 via Digi-Qualified SIIG FireWire 2-Port ExpressCard {NN-EC2012-S1}
Glyph 050Q 500GB via eSATA
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-21-2010, 12:58 PM
caruso7r caruso7r is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 842
Default Re: plugins and signal path

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_04_04 View Post
yeah, I understand what rendering is. You're actually creating a brand new audio file with the effect written into it. Im just saying that it's equivalent to putting melodyne or auto tune first in the chain.

Ill check our your music also

ps...Im a younger guy, but I really really appreciate the old school methods and wish I grew up knowing them.

to chickenhawked...

yeah, I like to save my cpu also. But i dont usually use sends, I just route all of vocal outputs to a vocal sum that has a delay and then a reverb one it. I like doing this because I can mix all the vocals to liking then adjust the vocal sum and move all the vox up or down along with the effects instead of having to adjust each send if I have to adjust the vocals. The only time I use sends is if I want different amounts of delay and reverb on each track.
FYI like the above poster said, if you set the send levels to post fader, you don't have to adjust each one when you adjust the volume or eq on each vocal. The "post" signal will follow the changes FYI.
__________________
John
Pro Tools 12.5
Macbook Pro & Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-21-2010, 02:14 PM
joe_04_04 joe_04_04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 86
Default Re: plugins and signal path

Wow, I never really knew about this. I know of pre and post fader, but never really realized the uses. Like I said, Im a younger guy. Thanks Guys
__________________
2011 21.5 inch iMac
2.5 GHz quad-core intel core i5
16 gigs of ram
OS 10.8.4
Pro Tools 10/11
M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8r
BX8A's

Tons of software, lots of good mics, tons of storage space
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Signal Path (for an 001) Cavet Your Eruptor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-28-2006 12:55 PM
Signal Path bluesna Tips & Tricks 0 01-10-2005 01:02 AM
Ideal Signal Path xterling 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 05-16-2002 01:43 PM
C 24 signal path (does this look right?) sidereal ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 03-19-2001 01:12 AM
How to get that $15,000 signal path SOUND for under $500? shaggy General Discussion 1 03-07-2000 03:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com