Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2024, 11:02 AM
pscott57 pscott57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: Willits, Mendocino County, California, USA
Posts: 23
Default using a FOOT switch for transport functions

I have read a bunch of stuff via forums (like this) and general Google searches to find out if there’s a way to use a “standard”, non-latching FOOT switch to start/stop, punch in/out with Pro Tools with meager results.
I’m surprised and disappointed that a seemingly simple and useful tool is so hard to find, and solutions available are quite pricey.

I was recently able to get my old Digidesign 003 console to work with my current PT version (Artist, v. 24.3.0.113). It has a foot switch jack and worked as I needed it.
Unfortunately, the Digi 003 died on me.
I’m not considering getting it repaired - yet - as there are other, up-to-date control surfaces, like the PreSonus*FaderPort Production Controller, that might turn out to be a less expensive way to go.
Any thoughts/critique of this unit and others would be appreciated.

I also have a Roland FA-08 keyboard that has both MIDI and USB connectivity to my computer, as well as MIDI to my interface (Focusrite Scarlett 18i20).
From what I’m reading, this may be the way to go, as I’ve read that you can set it up so that a foot switch can start/stop a DAW by using “wait for note”.
I’ve always found MIDI very confusing, but I’m willing to try figuring it out, and if there’s any help in implementing that, I’d appreciate that, too!

I hate to be cheap, but I'm retired and on a fixed income. As much as I’d like to invest in newer gear, it’s just not cost effective at this point. So, anything someone suggests that keeps expenses to a minimum is really appreciated.

Here’s the current situation and why I want to use an actual "old school" FOOT switch:
I’m a multi-instrumentalist and have a large arsenal of percussion, which is across the room from my computer. I have a foot switch with a nice long cable that reaches the FA-08 as well as the Scarlett and the computer, so this might be a solution, and it wouldn’t cost anything.

Until I can figure out if that would work, I have found a very crude work-around: I have two wireless computer keyboards; one has some keys that don’t work, so I bought another to replace it. I have found (thanks to this forum) that I can have both keyboards working at the same time, so I placed the faulty keyboard by the percussion on the floor and can hit the space-bar with my foot.
This works fine, but it’s also easy to hit other keys accidentally.

I apologize for a lengthy post. As stated before, any help is much appreciated!
Thanks!
Paul

Current set-up consists of:
iMac 27” (late 2015) OS 12.7.4
Pro Tools Artist v 24.3.0.113
Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 3rd Gen.
Roland FA-08

Last edited by pscott57; 03-16-2024 at 12:21 PM. Reason: spelling errors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2024, 11:06 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,365
Default Re: using a FOOT switch for transport functions

Use Avid Control on your phone. Not a foot switch but next best think for controlling Pro Tools.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2024, 11:32 AM
pscott57 pscott57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: Willits, Mendocino County, California, USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: using a FOOT switch for transport functions

Thank you!
But I do need to use a physical foot switch, as I would be holding sticks or instrument(s) in my hand.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2024, 03:22 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,365
Default Re: using a FOOT switch for transport functions

There are tons of Bluetooth footswitches that trigger midi events. I bet with one of those sending a midi signal you could program keyboard maestro to convert the midi to a keyboard troke. Thus giving you the ability to have control.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2024, 07:47 AM
pscott57 pscott57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: Willits, Mendocino County, California, USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: using a FOOT switch for transport functions

Yes. Looking into those if I can't make what I have work. Thanks agin!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2024, 10:38 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,382
Default Re: using a FOOT switch for transport functions

Maybe this?
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09PRMCTGB...v_ov_lig_dp_it
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2024, 09:01 AM
pscott57 pscott57 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Location: Willits, Mendocino County, California, USA
Posts: 23
Default Re: using a FOOT switch for transport functions

Thanks, ........................Dave
Something like the switch from amazon looks like a possibility, but the Z4 and MBox are a bit pricey at the moment for me.
There may come a time in the not-too-distant-future where I'll have to consider upgrading my entire system (Ack!) as that's the nature of this stuff.
But for now, I'm looking to be able to use what I have. I have to look more deeply into MIDI, as I have 4 gadgets that might do the trick ...
Cheers!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-18-2024, 09:24 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,365
Default Re: using a FOOT switch for transport functions

Quote:
I have to look more deeply into MIDI, as I have 4 gadgets that might do the trick ...
You can definitely have a midi event trigger a keyboard even using Keyboard Maestro.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-18-2024, 12:28 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,382
Default Re: using a FOOT switch for transport functions

Quote:
Originally Posted by pscott57 View Post
Thanks, ........................Dave
Something like the switch from amazon looks like a possibility, but the Z4 and MBox are a bit pricey at the moment for me.
There may come a time in the not-too-distant-future where I'll have to consider upgrading my entire system (Ack!) as that's the nature of this stuff.
But for now, I'm looking to be able to use what I have. I have to look more deeply into MIDI, as I have 4 gadgets that might do the trick ...
Cheers!!
That foot pedal should work with any system.
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midimap Transport functions Lowpez Pro Tools 2019 2 03-30-2020 11:04 AM
Transport Functions C600 doesn't work hollow Pro Tools 11 1 08-16-2013 07:12 AM
Locking MC Transport but NOT MC Mix's transport functions? zygmunt Artist Series 2 07-15-2012 09:11 PM
Transport Functions DeNiro Tips & Tricks 0 08-12-2006 08:57 AM
Transport Functions DeNiro Tips & Tricks 0 08-12-2006 08:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com