Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2023, 11:53 AM
moshuajusic moshuajusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 513
Default Dolby internal renderer: is it possible to fake speaker monitoring?

I don't have an Atmos speaker setup. But with the external renderer I could go to room setup, reassign the speakers to the last 12 outputs which I'm not using (117-128), and reassign the headphones to the first 2 outputs. That way the headphones get the binaural mix while I have a full 7.1.4 visual of the meters in the renderer. Nice hack and helpful for seeing exactly how panning and size affects distribution.

Any way to do that with the internal renderer? I'm up and running with 2023.12 now but Pro Tools i/o was always a bit arcane to me. My interface is an RME Babyface (original) fwiw.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2023, 01:52 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,365
Default Re: Dolby internal renderer: is it possible to fake speaker monitoring?

renderer doesn't know or care if you have actual speakers hooked up. It just want's to see that there are assigned outputs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2023, 12:24 PM
moshuajusic moshuajusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 513
Default Re: Dolby internal renderer: is it possible to fake speaker monitoring?

Ok but how do I do that since my interface doesn't have enough outs and the renderer seems to only see what's available on my interface?

EDIT: I got it! I think. Y'all let me know if this is optimal because it involves "Pro Tools Audio Bridge" which popped up a warning about latency and stuff. I created a 7.1.4 output path in the i/o output tab. (Off to the right are a bunch of PT audio bridge channels.) I then assigned both monitor path and output meter path to this new 7.1.4 out. In the renderer, I can then choose 7.1.4 to view the full array of meters. Then I created a stereo aux track with the input being the "live headphones rerender - binaural" and sent that to my interface. Now I can view the 7.1.4 mix in the renderer, and hear and see the binaural headphone mix in the edit or mix windows.

Last edited by moshuajusic; 12-24-2023 at 01:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2023, 08:45 AM
ZoeMusic's Avatar
ZoeMusic ZoeMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 129
Default Re: Dolby internal renderer: is it possible to fake speaker monitoring?

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshuajusic View Post
I don't have an Atmos speaker setup. But with the external renderer I could go to room setup, reassign the speakers to the last 12 outputs which I'm not using (117-128), and reassign the headphones to the first 2 outputs. That way the headphones get the binaural mix while I have a full 7.1.4 visual of the meters in the renderer. Nice hack and helpful for seeing exactly how panning and size affects distribution.

Any way to do that with the internal renderer? I'm up and running with 2023.12 now but Pro Tools i/o was always a bit arcane to me. My interface is an RME Babyface (original) fwiw.
I Just tried this hack with the eternal renderer. Nice Find! Would be nice if we could do this in the Internal renderer.
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2024.3.1 | Logic Pro 11 | Studio One Pro 6.6.1 | Dolby Atmos Render 5.3 & Album Assembler 1.4 | RME BabyFace Pro FS | UA Native Plugins & Sphere LX | SSL UC1 | 2023 Mac Studio M2 Max 12 Core CPU 38 Core GPU | MacOs 13.5.0 | Genelec 8020D & Yamaha MSP10 | Korg Kronos LS | Sonarworks Sound ID | Beyerdynamic DT 1990 Pro | DT 880 PRO | DT 770 Pro | etc.

Last edited by ZoeMusic; 12-25-2023 at 09:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printing internal Dolby Atmos Renderer christian kuntner Pro Tools 3 12-21-2023 12:36 AM
Pro Tools 2023.12 Internal Dolby Atmos Renderer Questions and Setup Update bolisound Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 3 12-15-2023 07:51 PM
Dolby Renderer with HDX Noyan Pro Tools 0 12-15-2023 08:30 AM
PT Bounce to ADM vs Dolby Renderer ADM peapodpost Pro Tools 1 03-17-2023 10:29 PM
Dolby Renderer and Big Sur? LewisP Pro Tools 1 08-16-2021 07:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com