Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2012, 08:35 AM
A Chapman A Chapman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland, UK
Posts: 136
Default Control surface for Pro Tools HD - opinions?

Hi all,

One of our rooms at the university I work at has a Control|24 that we're ready to bin. Power Supply has blown three times now, and we've also had to have three faders repaired. When the PSU went the other day, I reconfigured the room so students can work without the console.

What with the Control|24 being "no longer supported" after Pro Tools 10, we're looking at other options. It was always much too big for this small edit room, so something with 8 motorised, touch-sensitive faders would be fine. Also, if it had a built in monitor section, that would be ideal too. Command|8 fits the bill... but is also no longer supported after PT10.

Other options :

Euphonix MC Mix - I'm not keen. Had one myself, and had to send it back to Avid in Ireland after the case spontaneously cracked. Also, no monitor section. Not to mention it's very small and desirable, making it a prime target for thieves.

Mackie Control Universal Pro - no monitor section, but otherwise would fit the bill. I presume it just uses HUI to communicate with PT?

Is there anything else out there that would fit the bill?

Many thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-01-2012, 10:01 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,864
Default Re: Control surface for Pro Tools HD - opinions?

What about the newer C24 that came out a couple years ago? That will be supported in PT11 and beyond.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-01-2012, 10:29 AM
A Chapman A Chapman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland, UK
Posts: 136
Default Re: Control surface for Pro Tools HD - opinions?

We've already got a C|24 in one of our other rooms, but it's too big and expensive for this smaller edit room. It's used mainly for editing post and recording VO from an attached booth with four mic inputs (we already have pres). The Mackie is looking most attractive I think, especially as it can be easily extended to 16 faders.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-01-2012, 10:50 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,381
Default Re: Control surface for Pro Tools HD - opinions?

Wonder if the SSL Nucleus would work here?
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-01-2012, 10:53 AM
A Chapman A Chapman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunderland, UK
Posts: 136
Default Re: Control surface for Pro Tools HD - opinions?

In theory it would, but it's incredibly expensive and probably overkill for the room - we don't need any of the analogue functions or the audio interface. In any case, even if the money was available, I'd probably not want to use it in this room as it doesn't have a kensington lock socket. Security is a prime concern in this environment, I'm afraid.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-01-2012, 04:00 PM
Java Java is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA, USA
Posts: 53
Default Re: Control surface for Pro Tools HD - opinions?

Quote:
Originally Posted by A Chapman View Post
Hi all,

One of our rooms at the university I work at has a Control|24 that we're ready to bin. Power Supply has blown three times now, and we've also had to have three faders repaired. When the PSU went the other day, I reconfigured the room so students can work without the console.

What with the Control|24 being "no longer supported" after Pro Tools 10, we're looking at other options. It was always much too big for this small edit room, so something with 8 motorised, touch-sensitive faders would be fine. Also, if it had a built in monitor section, that would be ideal too. Command|8 fits the bill... but is also no longer supported after PT10.

Other options :

Euphonix MC Mix - I'm not keen. Had one myself, and had to send it back to Avid in Ireland after the case spontaneously cracked. Also, no monitor section. Not to mention it's very small and desirable, making it a prime target for thieves.

Mackie Control Universal Pro - no monitor section, but otherwise would fit the bill. I presume it just uses HUI to communicate with PT?

Is there anything else out there that would fit the bill?

Many thanks
You should take a spin on the review Craig Anderton did in this months emusician...
http://www.emusician.com/gear/0769/a...aradigm/147792

I think there is one that's cheaper and he gets into the features and differences.

I agree with you $5k for a box is pretty expensive but the SSL and Focusrite have PREs so that makes them more expensive. Check out the other two.

Behringer also had some new control surface that was pretty keen though I am really not familiar with their stuff, anyone got any comments on Behringer's reputation?
__________________
Java
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-01-2012, 04:48 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,606
Default Re: Control surface for Pro Tools HD - opinions?

iPad and VControl? http://www.neyrinck.com/en/products/v-control-pro
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-01-2012, 06:07 PM
CME CME is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Ardmore OK
Posts: 3,207
Default

That focusrite box looks sweet. A bit, okay a long ways, out of my price range but very cool non the less.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Dell T5810. Harrison Mixbus 32C. Haven't used PT since 2015 and never been happier.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 control surface under 1000$. yamahadrums Pro Tools 9 19 04-04-2012 01:40 AM
What control surface for Pro tools LE, which do you like best? Christian General Discussion 4 04-05-2002 12:41 AM
Pro Tools Le Logic Control surface johnb-206 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-24-2002 09:51 PM
Radikal Technologies Control Surface. Opinions Please. voiceguy san diego General Discussion 0 08-11-2001 01:33 PM
SAC-2K control surface & Pro Tools? Proteus 2 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-22-2001 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com