Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2010, 10:53 AM
FierceBrew FierceBrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pac NW
Posts: 39
Default Preamp into 003...+4dBu or -10dBV?

Hello fellow audiophiles,

I am running a Digi03 Rack and have recently acquired a UA6176. I am routing the preamp into input 5 using a XLR to 1/4" TRS cable but I am unsure which level setting I should use...+4dBu or -10dBV?

I have been using the +4dBu b/c I also own a Focusrite unit that is routed using an identical cable into input 6. The rear panel of that unit actually says "+4dBu" beneath the XLR output so I assumed that setting my line level at +4 was correct.

However, the UA is a higher quality unit and I was not sure if I should use the same setting. So i guess I have 3 questions.

What would be the preferred setting for the UA6176?
How does that line level setting affect the signal-to-noise ratio?
How does the line level setting affect the headroom/noise floor?

I record mostly rock music but I am also starting to record jazz as well as spoken word.

Any info you have would be a huge help. Thanks.
__________________
Benjamin Trimpe
Semi-Pro Audio Engineer
Digi03r with BLA Signature Series Mods

"What's another word for thesaurus?"
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2010, 11:13 AM
rqstudio rqstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,322
Default Re: Preamp into 003...+4dBu or -10dBV?

Best way to find out is put input 1 on your 003 at about 12:00 and insert a signal or tone. Then insert SAME signal through your other equipment and see which setting comes the closest. (No need to even have your output or monitors on, we don't need to blow anything) But if my memery serves me, you can only select this -10/+4 on groups of 4. (5~8) So both would have to be the same. Check on the back of your hardware for the same -10/+4 option.

I have a 24 buss analog board and tried balancing all 18 inputs on a 003,(w/different converters) and only got close.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2010, 12:57 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,377
Default Re: Preamp into 003...+4dBu or -10dBV?

+4 would be the setting for most any modern outboard preamp. The -10 selection would be more fitting with older semi-pro gear or anything with an RCA analog output(like a CD player).
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2010, 01:05 PM
FierceBrew FierceBrew is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Pac NW
Posts: 39
Default Re: Preamp into 003...+4dBu or -10dBV?

Thanks Albee.

I had a feeling that +4 was the way to go, but I'm about to start tracking vocals on an album and I wanted to make sure that I was giving the signal the optimal path. Thanks again.
__________________
Benjamin Trimpe
Semi-Pro Audio Engineer
Digi03r with BLA Signature Series Mods

"What's another word for thesaurus?"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2010, 07:55 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,072
Default Re: Preamp into 003...+4dBu or -10dBV?

The manual says the 4 preamps are preset to the +4 value which cannot be changed (unless by cranking the knobs I'd guess). So I like to keep 5-8 at the same setting with gain knobs 1-4 all the way down so everything comes in at a fairly even level, since I'm not using the 003's mic preamps. But it really depends on what you have coming in to all your channels. I have my MPC 2500 coming in 1/4" on all 8 channels with my mixer coming into the Aux and my mic pre in via s/pdif. So having all 8 channels level set works for me. But if you have a bunch of different gear going in, I would decide based on what the gear is and what your needs are as far as input gain goes for each piece. Just my $0.02.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

UAD 2 Apollo Quad w/Thunderbolt 3, UAD 2 Satellite Octo TB3, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Avid S1, Neve R6 500 Chasis, Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Dangerous DBox+, Focal Trio6 Be, Neumann TLM49, Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61

Pro Tools 2021.12

Mac Pro 7,1 2019, 8 Core, 48GB RAM - MacOS 11.6.2

16" MacBook Pro 2021, M1 Pro, 16GB RAM - MacOS 12.1

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - MacOS 10.15
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-31-2010, 09:28 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,377
Default Re: Preamp into 003...+4dBu or -10dBV?

Whatever is plugged into inputs 1 thru 4 is going thru the 003 preamps. It bypasses a GAIN stage(but its still thru the preamp). 5 thru 8 on the 003 is a line input only(disregarding the 003r+ version).
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-31-2010, 10:03 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,072
Default Re: Preamp into 003...+4dBu or -10dBV?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Whatever is plugged into inputs 1 thru 4 is going thru the 003 preamps. It bypasses a GAIN stage(but its still thru the preamp). 5 thru 8 on the 003 is a line input only(disregarding the 003r+ version).
Yeah, I realize that. I meant not using them with mics requiring gain. My bad for misusing the terms!
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

UAD 2 Apollo Quad w/Thunderbolt 3, UAD 2 Satellite Octo TB3, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Avid S1, Neve R6 500 Chasis, Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Dangerous DBox+, Focal Trio6 Be, Neumann TLM49, Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61

Pro Tools 2021.12

Mac Pro 7,1 2019, 8 Core, 48GB RAM - MacOS 11.6.2

16" MacBook Pro 2021, M1 Pro, 16GB RAM - MacOS 12.1

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - MacOS 10.15
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-01-2010, 06:48 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,377
Default Re: Preamp into 003...+4dBu or -10dBV?

__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
-10 & +4dbu breaktheory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-19-2010 03:34 AM
+4dbu / 0VU niros 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-06-2007 07:16 PM
+4dBu or -10dBv ??? micline 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-03-2005 09:58 AM
+4dBu? -10dBV? Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 15 05-20-2002 09:21 AM
issue with -10dbv and +4dbu usinare Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-24-2001 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com