Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2005, 08:48 AM
Jr Toad Jr Toad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pleasant Hill Ca.
Posts: 15
Default Microphone Preamp yes or no

Just want opinions on if it's worth it to buy an
inexpencive microphone preamp. under 200. Or will the
Protools preamp be ok.
Looking for the best sound I can get for my CD
without going broke.
If Yes, any recomendations

thanks

Jeff
__________________
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2005, 09:32 AM
bigbubbaj bigbubbaj is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 1,457
Default Re: Microphone Preamp yes or no

Under 200 - NO.
__________________
5198 Studios
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-09-2005, 09:34 AM
JonMitchell JonMitchell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 197
Default Re: Microphone Preamp yes or no

For under $200 I wouldn't even consider it. The difference will be so minimal, if existent, if not worse, you won't be able to tell a difference. Especially if your monitors aren't up to snuff. If you can't hear the difference.. well whats the point? Monitors first, microphone second. Then worry about the preamp.
Adam
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-09-2005, 09:43 AM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Microphone Preamp yes or no

For under 200...no. But, if you're talking about the 002 line, a pair of shure in-line XLR attenuators greatly increase the usability of the pre's. Even if we're not talking about the 002 line, they're a good thing to have at your disposal.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2005, 10:40 AM
vocalvoodoo's Avatar
vocalvoodoo vocalvoodoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: Microphone Preamp yes or no

Interesting Chris. I have never heard of an In-Line Attenuator. This has peaked my interest. What does it do to make the pres more useable other than attenuationg the signal? Sorry if I'm just missing it.

I'm using just the MBox 2 pres at the moment, so any help will help.

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-09-2005, 10:47 AM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Microphone Preamp yes or no

The in-line attenuators or "pads" simply decrease the level at the mic input...just like a "pad" switch on a preamp. The 002 pre's don't have a pad and are considered quite "hot", so adding an aftermarket pad makes them more usable. Shure makes a couple of in-line pads to choose from. Depending on the preamp, these pads operate in exactly the same manner as those found on a pre. (Some pre's use resistor based attenuation at the input prior to the signal being converted from balanced to single ended, which is how the inline pads work. Other designs include removing a gain stage, or attenuating the signal after being unbalanced.)

I don't own an mbox, so I can't say for certain whether or not the in-line pads would really be of any use to you.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:01 AM
vocalvoodoo's Avatar
vocalvoodoo vocalvoodoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Posts: 1,478
Default Re: Microphone Preamp yes or no

Got it. The MBox 2 does have a pad, so an in-line is probably no use to me. Thanks for the info though, Chris. Greatly appreciated.

Josh
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-09-2005, 01:47 PM
Jr Toad Jr Toad is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pleasant Hill Ca.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Microphone Preamp yes or no

Thanks for all the response. I have a 002 rack.
I read 101 recording tips. For a home studio it suggested that
one of the most important tools to good sound was a mic pre.
__________________
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:06 PM
Aussie169 Aussie169 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Leongatha, Vic, Australia
Posts: 1,869
Default Re: Microphone Preamp yes or no

That's true, but you're not going to improve on the 002 pres for $200.
As stated above, you'll get more value out of a better mic at this stage.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-09-2005, 02:28 PM
JonMitchell JonMitchell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 197
Default Re: Microphone Preamp yes or no

Quote:
As stated above, you'll get more value out of a better mic at this stage.
Exactly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using outboard Preamp/Bypassing Mbox2 Preamp KennyC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 06-10-2007 12:00 PM
Using a microphone preamp with Digi002 Rack hymns 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 07-15-2005 07:12 AM
Studio Projects VTB1 preamp vs ART TPS-II preamp?? ESR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 06-28-2004 09:23 PM
Microphone/PreAmp Question vocalize Tips & Tricks 1 04-08-2004 01:08 AM
I'm torn.. Digi001 with better preamp or Digi002 with cheaper preamp/future upgrade Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 02-05-2003 11:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com