Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2020, 06:06 AM
dailymc1 dailymc1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 12
Default How to upgrade license from 2015 student license

Hi all,

Whilst at Uni (finally) completing my MA, I purchased the 'FOR LIFE' Pro Tools license. However, as you can see from my kit list, altho my 2008 Mac Pro is quite fast enuff to run my studio, as I refused to play the 'Upgrade Wars, I finally had to make the plunge, as I couldn't upgrade my OS (last one was El Capitan... frustrating as my machine is well capable.. Apple ay!?) & so therefore, new software AND hardware!?
And so, have bought a 2019 iMac, & a UAD Apollo audio interface, wiv the new iMac running Catalina. However, my 'LICENSE FOR LIFE' won't work...
Please advise

Many thanks

Paul aka; DailyMc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2020, 06:27 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,262
Default Re: How to upgrade license from 2015 student license

Maybe you should move this to Licensing and Accounts - Avid support looks in there regularly.
__________________
PT 2021.3 DP 10.13 MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10
PT 2021.3 DP 10.13 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV HP Z2 G4 Xeon Workstation Win10
2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 VEP 7.x hosting various VIs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-30-2020, 06:33 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,931
Default Re: How to upgrade license from 2015 student license

You might want to read the license agreement carefully. I doubt Avid granted you a license for all future upgrades and no Avid license I am aware of talks about 'for life'.

Are you talking standard or Ultimate?

I expect the preferred way Avid will want you to proceed is for you to purchase a monthly or annual subscription to standard or Ultimate. Not sure if you can surrender your current edu license as a "cross grade" (Avid's awful confusing marketing term-for that)... this is maybe a question you want to ask.

Sone dealers seem able to issue renewals on lapsed support plans on perpetusl licenses, Avid does not directly. You should contact a large Avid reseller for the UK and ask them what your options are there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-30-2020, 08:12 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,926
Default Re: How to upgrade license from 2015 student license

Prob'ly means he bought a "perpetual" license - all that means is it's not subscription, but it doesn't mean it's gonna work in perpetuity with future OS/Hardware releases. You either freeze the machine/OS at the versioin that works with your software (Pro Tools, etc) or you move on and keep up to date with your Pro Tools version.
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.14, PT 2021.3 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24, 3xS1/Dock.
Also running a 2013 nMP / HDX / S6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Student license upgrade soffiuson Licensing & Accounts 1 12-14-2015 04:29 PM
Do I need to upgrade a Student Perpetual License? Hoenerbr Pro Tools 12 2 11-30-2015 06:52 PM
Student to HD license upgrade?! TheGrobinson Pro Tools 11 2 10-23-2013 10:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com