Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2002, 03:21 PM
David Lawler David Lawler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Skippack, PA, USA
Posts: 32
Default Mac Ethernet help??

Hi, I just downloaded the WAVES 3.5 upgrade to my iBook at work. Now, I need to copy this file to my G4 at home, but can't seem to get the AppleTalk/Ethernet thing to work. Can anyone help with specific instructions to do this? or lead me to a site that details this ? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2002, 06:18 PM
dcornutt dcornutt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,308
Default Re: Mac Ethernet help??

Wow, timely..I just posted this in another forum...but here you go.

TITLE
Macintosh: How to Use FireWire Target Disk Mode
Article ID:
Created:
Modified: 58583
2/1/00
5/20/02
------------------------------------------------------------------------
TOPIC
This article explains what FireWire target disk mode (TDM) is and how to use it.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
DISCUSSION
Description and requirements
FireWire target disk mode allows a Macintosh computer with a FireWire port (the target computer) to be used as an external hard disk connected to another computer (the host). Once a target computer is started up as a FireWire hard disk and is available to the host computer, you can copy files to or from that volume.
Host computer requirements
Host computers must meet the following requirements:
*
Built-in FireWire port, or a FireWire port on a PC card
*
FireWire 2.3.3 or later
*
Mac OS 8.6 or later
Target computers
The following models can be used as target computers:
*
PowerBook (FireWire)
*
PowerBook G4
*
PowerBook G4 (Gigabit Ethernet)
*
PowerBook G4 (DVI)
*
iBook (FireWire)
*
iBook SE (FireWire)
*
iBook (Dual USB)
*
iBook (Late 2001)
*
iBook (14.1 LCD)
*
iBook (16 VRAM)
*
iBook (14.1 LCD 16 VRAM)
*
Power Mac G4 (AGP Graphics) with ATA drive
*
Power Mac G4 Cube
*
Power Mac G4 (Gigabit Ethernet)
*
Power Mac G4 (Digital Audio)
*
Power Mac G4 (QuickSilver)
*
Power Mac G4 (QuickSilver 2002)
*
iMac (Slot Loading) with Firmware version 2.4 or later
*
iMac (Summer 2000)
*
iMac (Early 2001)
*
iMac (Summer 2001)
*
iMac (Flat Panel)
*
FireWire software
You can download the latest Firmware and FireWire software from the Apple Software Updates Web site (http://www.apple.com/swupdates/).
How to use FireWire target disk mode
Important: Unplug all other FireWire devices from both computers prior to using FireWire target disk mode. Do not plug in any FireWire devices until after you have disconnected the two computers from each other, or have stopped using target disk mode.
To use FireWire target disk mode
1. Make sure that the target computer is turned off. If you are using a PowerBook computer or iBook computer as the target computer, you should also plug in its AC power adapter.
2. Use a FireWire cable (6-pin to 6-pin) to connect the target computer to a host computer. The host computer does not need to be turned off.
3. Start up the target computer and immediately press and hold down the T key until the FireWire icon appears. The hard disk of the target computer should become available to the host computer and will likely appear on desktop.
4. When you are finished copying files, drag the target computer's hard disk icon to the Trash or select Put Away from the File menu (Mac OS 9) or Eject from the File menu (Mac OS X).
5. Press the target computer's power button to turn it off.
6. Unplug the FireWire cable.
If the target computer's hard disk does not become available to the host computer, check the cable connections and restart the host computer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2002, 06:32 PM
dj poison dj poison is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: dublin,Ireland
Posts: 15
Default Re: Mac Ethernet help??

Or if you're stuck on the idea of using ethernet and you have the appropriate cable , set file sharing to on go to tcp/ip and select ethernet using a dhcp server , not manually ,and restart the computer's at roughly the same time , though it may already read it , you can only transfer files one way at a time though . So whatever you want to copy selet the item , go to get info and select sharing , and you'll be rocking in no time . Hope that helps !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2002, 07:12 PM
Frank S Frank S is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 675
Default Re: Mac Ethernet help??

I like to transfer large files using Firewire Target disk mode as dcornutt posted above. If your ibook HAS FW (the latest few iterations do) this is the fastest and easiest way to do it. The only problem is those pesky desktop icons/aliases on the target disk machine, which I tend to grab and put into a folder before I do this.

If you don't have firewire target disk mode, use Appletalk, turning it on for both machines, and make sure in the appletalk menu its set to 'ethernet' on both of them. You'll then turn file sharing on on the machine you want to copy from (the donor we'll call it), and make sure you have a name and password established that you remember in that file sharing menu. Then go into the chooser of the other machine (recipient) and make sure appletalk is set to ehternet. Then select appleshare from within the chooser. Once you click on appleshare, you should see the donor machines name in the dialog box on the right, and then double click on its name to log in as a registered user, using the 'donor' machines name and password (the ones that you set up in the file sharing menu). Once that machine appears as a local server on your desktop, then go to the appropriate place and copy whatever you need to.

It sounds a million times more complicated than it actually is. As an owner of a Lombard PB G3 without FW, TiG4, Sawtooth G4, and a Quicksilver G4, you get pretty good at doing this kind of stuff without even thinking about it. Its actually easy.
__________________
Frank S
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone tried ATA over ethernet? mtung Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-12-2007 06:32 PM
ETHERNET HUB FOR PC MICFREAK ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 05-24-2005 06:56 AM
G3 + 001 + G5 + Ethernet? dreamers 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-21-2005 10:44 PM
Ethernet again... kmt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-02-2003 02:54 PM
ethernet... jwhartmann Storage Subsystems 1 05-13-1999 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com