Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2015, 08:11 AM
SindriKara SindriKara is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Heiðarbrún 59
Posts: 8
Default Problem with Centre and LFE channel

Hi there,

I'm running Pro Tools HD Native with HD Omni interface. Genelec 8040A speakers running through GLM software.

For some reason i'm not getting the Centre and LFE channels to work. The D-Command shows a signal on the output Led indicator. But nothing gets through the Centre or LFE.

I've tried Pink Noise though the GLM software and that works fine, but not in Pro Tools.

I've set the output L-R-Ls-Rs-C-LFE, as well tried other setups like:
L-C-R-Ls-Rs-LFE and so on. Nothing seems to be working.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2015, 09:09 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 24,935
Default Re: Problem with Centre and LFE channel

There are a lot of things that may go wrong in a setup such as this.

First, set up a PT session with 8 mono sends to 8 analog outputs and confirm that you get signal to all relevant outputs. You only need one working Genelec to confirm this, swap cable from 1 to 8 and enjoy the pink noise

That must be confirmed first, and it only takes a minute.

As far as PT is concerned, your outputs 1-8 should be the analog outputs of OMNI and without anything extra you should be able to feed signal through to your monitors.

Should that succeed, we could troubleshoot PT but before you have confirmed all outputs work as expected, I'm afraid there is little we can do to help you.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2015, 09:14 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,606
Default Re: Problem with Centre and LFE channel

And the Omni output meters show?
I'm going to guess you have a wiring problem
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2015, 09:57 AM
remotedude's Avatar
remotedude remotedude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 127
Default Re: Problem with Centre and LFE channel

Are you feeding the Subwoofer analog or digital from the Omni. Check the Genelec connection manual but I remember the sub taking the signals digitally on XLR Inputs 1-2 and 4. That may be your problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-27-2015, 04:57 PM
Eric Seaberg's Avatar
Eric Seaberg Eric Seaberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,926
Default Re: Problem with Centre and LFE channel

Quote:
Originally Posted by remotedude View Post
Are you feeding the Subwoofer analog or digital from the Omni. Check the Genelec connection manual but I remember the sub taking the signals digitally on XLR Inputs 1-2 and 4. That may be your problem.
You are correct, sir. We have a few versions of the 8240, which is digital in with the DSP in the sub, and the channel layout is 1, 2 & 4 for L-R-Ls-Rs-C-Lfe.

Happy thumping!
__________________
Eric Seaberg • San Diego, CA
A.E.S., I.E.E.E., S.M.P.T.E., S.P.A.R.S.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.1 Mix Narrator Center channel Dialogue Centre or phantom Center? kd_special Post - Surround - Video 5 03-02-2011 02:53 AM
afl solo in centre channel? tomlowd Post - Surround - Video 1 10-11-2007 02:49 AM
afl solo in centre channel? tomlowd ICON & C|24 1 10-10-2007 06:42 AM
Easiest way to isolate centre channel? mick7777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-30-2004 12:03 AM
Can't centre delay! duanebonney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-15-2003 09:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com