Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2007, 04:35 PM
tomlowd tomlowd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: sydney
Posts: 126
Default afl solo in centre channel?

hey all,

just wondering if anyone knows how to get the afl solo to come through the centre channel.....

to clarify, we're mixing in 5.1, and the afl solo comes back into d-control through one of the stereo inputs. which is fine when we're mixing in stereo, but when mixing dialogue in 5.1, when a channel is soloed it goes from coming through the centre channel to through the left and right channels....

does anyone have a work around for this? can you mono a stereo return? can you send the afl solo through the actual monitor outputs rather than back through another return?

thanks

tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2007, 02:49 AM
wheresmyfroggy wheresmyfroggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 361
Default Re: afl solo in centre channel?

The short answer is no you cant send it out a monitor output without it clashing with your main 5.1 output. But if you could assign AFL to a sub-path you could set up a mono sub path on the C channel of your main out and assign your AFL output to that


So I suppose this is a feature request!

As a workround, do you have your xmon/pro-tools ins and outs on a jackfiled in the studio? If so you could just have a cable hanging out of your chosen AFL output and just shove it in your xmon C channel input every time you solo'd (a bit crap I know)

or you could have a mono AFL path in the same spot as your C channel output and just open I/O and disable your main out and enable the AFL out every time you wanted to solo (even more crap I know)

Or you could hope that I am missing some fundamental trick/feature and someone will be along soon and enjighten us lol

Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't Solo More Than One Channel charmingnerd Artist Series 5 03-12-2014 06:19 PM
5.1 Mix Narrator Center channel Dialogue Centre or phantom Center? kd_special Post - Surround - Video 5 03-02-2011 02:53 AM
solo aux channel? maufau Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 04-25-2008 07:45 PM
afl solo in centre channel? tomlowd ICON & C|24 1 10-10-2007 06:42 AM
Easiest way to isolate centre channel? mick7777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-30-2004 12:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com