Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-01-2016, 05:17 PM
emzycollins emzycollins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Marshall
Posts: 6
Default Trying to install pro tools LE on Windows XP

I'm trying to help my younger brother get into pro tools and I was giving him my old m box. I have the iLok and pro tools LE registered. It keeps popping up with "The procedure entry point _DsiSetThreadPriority@8 could not be located in the dynamic link library DSI.dll." Then it says "A required DLL file, DFW.dll, was not found. Please help. Thanks
__________________
Brothers computer
Dell
Windows XP
Intel core 2
1.83 GHz 1.99 GB ram
Tying to install pro tools LE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-02-2016, 10:33 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,158
Default Re: Trying to install pro tools LE on Windows XP

PT LE doesn't use an iLok to authorize Pro Tools, it uses the Digi/Avid interface as the dongle and an authorization code to authorize.

What version of PT LE are you trying to install? Up to Pro Tools 8x works with XP. Above 8x uses an iLok and probably won't work.

If you have a version of PT that works with XP, you may have a corrupt download. Redownload the installer from your Avid Account.

All that said, that Dell may not work - or work well - with any version of Pro Tools. Post a Sandra Report to get comments on that.

HTH
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-02-2016, 11:32 AM
emzycollins emzycollins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Marshall
Posts: 6
Default Re: Trying to install pro tools LE on Windows XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
PT LE doesn't use an iLok to authorize Pro Tools, it uses the Digi/Avid interface as the dongle and an authorization code to authorize.

What version of PT LE are you trying to install? Up to Pro Tools 8x works with XP. Above 8x uses an iLok and probably won't work.

If you have a version of PT that works with XP, you may have a corrupt download. Redownload the installer from your Avid Account.

All that said, that Dell may not work - or work well - with any version of Pro Tools. Post a Sandra Report to get comments on that.

HTH


The mbox came with the iLok. I have versions 6.7 and 7 (updater) both on disc. Neither are working. I have tried to uninstall and reinstall still having issues. I also have the music production toolkit I purchased. All I want is a version to work with the mbox im not being too picky. I just don't get this dll error.. Is that a driver or something I need? Thanks for any help.
__________________
Brothers computer
Dell
Windows XP
Intel core 2
1.83 GHz 1.99 GB ram
Tying to install pro tools LE
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-02-2016, 11:50 AM
emzycollins emzycollins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Marshall
Posts: 6
Default Re: Trying to install pro tools LE on Windows XP

I just tried to update from pt 6.7 to my updater 7.0 and it's saying it cannot locate a valid installation of pro tools LE on this system. (Which makes no sense, it's from a disc so there's not a download issue.) is there a way to get this or a download that will work?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Brothers computer
Dell
Windows XP
Intel core 2
1.83 GHz 1.99 GB ram
Tying to install pro tools LE
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-02-2016, 05:40 PM
emzycollins emzycollins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Marshall
Posts: 6
Default Re: Trying to install pro tools LE on Windows XP

I figured it out. I uninstalled it again stripped the install down to just pt and that worked. Thanks for the help.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Brothers computer
Dell
Windows XP
Intel core 2
1.83 GHz 1.99 GB ram
Tying to install pro tools LE
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-05-2024, 01:41 AM
Cstone Cstone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Highland county va
Posts: 2
Default Re: Trying to install pro tools LE on Windows XP

I’m having similar problems but I’m trying to run pro tools le7+ on xp and windows 11 but I’m having no luck. It says usb device malfunctioned. I am so lost
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2024, 04:10 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 39,368
Default Re: Trying to install pro tools LE on Windows XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cstone View Post
I’m having similar problems but I’m trying to run pro tools le7+ on xp and windows 11 but I’m having no luck. It says usb device malfunctioned. I am so lost
You should start your own thread and include complete info on your system and hardware. No version of LE is going to work on Windows 11. On Windows XP, you NEED a suitable piece of Digidesign hardware(Mbox, 002, etc) and you also need an authorization code that matches the version of LE you are installing, and there are specific instructions involved with the installation(IOW, if you don't run the install correctly, its probably not going to work).
__________________
HP Z4 workstation, Mbox Studio
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't install Pro Tools LE on Windows XP emzycollins 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-01-2016 05:07 PM
Pro Tools 10.3.2 wont even install! After clean windows 7 install!!! shamanrock Windows 13 12-27-2012 04:39 PM
HOW DO I INSTALL Pro tools 8.0.4 LE ON WINDOWS 7 32 BIT Rski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-15-2011 08:02 PM
Can't install Pro Tools 8 LE on Windows 7 ashm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 02-28-2010 12:28 PM
Pro Tools 8.0 LE on 32 bit Windows 7 - can't install gbross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 12-13-2009 06:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com