Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2020, 08:04 AM
misterrasta misterrasta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ashland, MA
Posts: 7
Default S1 Foot Pedal

Hi S1 Users!

Those of you familiar with the S1, do you know if you need a particular type of foot switch to use with the S1?

Can I just buy a typical momentary foot-switch? Does it need to be latching/non-latching? (something like the BOSS FS-5U?)

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2022, 09:04 AM
MountainAnnie MountainAnnie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Estes Park
Posts: 3
Default Re: S1 Foot Pedal

I have the same question. Was this ever answered? Any recommendations for foot pedals for S1 controller that you've used and work well for punch record?

Pro Tools Studio 2022.4.0
Avid S1
UA Apollo Twin
Mac OS Big Sur 11.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2022, 01:38 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,981
Default Re: S1 Foot Pedal

Non-latching and N.O.(normally open) is usually the proper one for PT quick-punch(that's always worked for me with either a DIGI003 or Presonus Faderport).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2022, 05:15 AM
Neale Neale is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 428
Default Re: S1 Foot Pedal

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Non-latching and N.O.(normally open) is usually the proper one for PT quick-punch(that's always worked for me with either a DIGI003 or Presonus Faderport).
Yep. Using the same Yamaha FC5, same thing I’ve used since Digi 002r days, worked fine with Artist Control and still working fine with the S1. Should you buy something else and the polarity is wrong, your solution is as simple as cutting the cable, flipping the conductors, and reattaching as you see fit (I’ve done it before with a lineman’s splice with other pedals and it works perfectly); you could even rig up a polarity switch with a toggle somewhere along your cable if you wanna get SUPER creative.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2022, 10:28 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,621
Default Re: S1 Foot Pedal

Polarity doesn't matter, the S1 detects it when powered up (if the footswtch is already attached). Momentary is needed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foot pedal for editing you kay Tips & Tricks 4 10-29-2018 04:43 PM
Using HD500X as a foot controller pedal with 11 r. JCcares Eleven Rack 1 03-07-2017 01:49 PM
PT 11 w/ 11R Midi In to Punch in w/ Foot Pedal Fezzler Eleven Rack 0 05-04-2015 05:19 PM
11 Foot Controller Expression Pedal Shootout blewis Eleven Rack 26 04-29-2011 07:15 AM
Foot pedal for 002R... BakedBeans 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-16-2006 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com