Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2013, 02:44 PM
DrummerGuy09 DrummerGuy09 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 22
Default A way to mute a track while un-muting another track w one click?

Hello,
For purposes of A/B'n a track for a client, is there a way (w one button) to mute a track while un-muting another track with one click?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2013, 03:46 PM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,386
Default Re: A way to mute a track while un-muting another track w one click?

options>solo>x-or
e
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2013, 03:51 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: A way to mute a track while un-muting another track w one click?

  • Solo safe all your tracks: Ctrl+Alt+Click on any solo button.
  • Invoke X-OR Sole mode: Options > Solo Mode > X-OR (Cancels Previous Solo)
  • Take the two tracks you want to A/B out of Solo safe mode: Ctrl +Click on their solo buttons.
  • Playback the session and now just solo between the two tracks.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:04 AM
mickelini's Avatar
mickelini mickelini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 45
Default Re: A way to mute a track while un-muting another track w one click?

Mute one of the tracks, select both, press Shift-M.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:33 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,557
Default Re: A way to mute a track while un-muting another track w one click?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickelini View Post
Mute one of the tracks, select both, press Shift-M.
Nice one mickelini.

Just to expand on it for those who might not get it going, one will need "Link Track and Edit Selection" enabled to perform the Shift+M mute toggle. If "Link Track and Edit Selection" is disabled, then one will need to place the playhead cursor inside the unmuted track for the toggle to work.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-16-2013, 06:44 AM
mickelini's Avatar
mickelini mickelini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 45
Default Re: A way to mute a track while un-muting another track w one click?

Thanks for the clarification Shane. I forget because I always have that enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2022, 08:07 AM
federico federico is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Caracas
Posts: 29
Default Re: A way to mute a track while un-muting another track w one click?

Hello,

I recently installed pro tools in another computer and something weird is happening. When I shift+m a selected track... it mutes the track but unmutes every other track that is muted, and viceversa. I have no groups made. Can Anyone help please.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2022, 07:57 PM
nednednerb nednednerb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 36
Default Re: A way to mute a track while un-muting another track w one click?

Federico, maybe your timeline selection is in more than one track even though track selection is different. Shift+m on my setup will turn the mute on and off depending on which tracks in the timeline have a selection made. It doesn't apply the mutes based on the track name being highlighted or not.

You might try "Link Track and Edit Selection" in the tool bar for better results
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help with Muting Track Imagine Nation macOS 1 02-02-2013 04:16 PM
Solo/Mute a given track without having to find and click on it every time? mbahnmil Pro Tools 9 8 02-26-2012 04:57 PM
Can't Mute or Change Volume on Audio Track and Instrument track FunkTools 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-10-2010 04:40 AM
hearing click in playback after muting track,7.3 peteor96 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-13-2010 07:21 AM
Mute on audio track switches off when I play the track el biciclista Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-29-2003 10:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com