Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2004, 09:17 PM
Victorious Victorious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Default Windows Server 2003

Hey, my friend for some reason really wants to install this on my computer, but I'm really, really concerned that ProTools won't even work on it. Am I just being an idiot? Anything that runs on XP will run on Windows Server 2003 too, right?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2004, 09:37 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

I wouldnt bet on it. PTLE is known for being picky about stuff like that. AFAIK ptle 6.1 only runs on winxp home or winxp professional.
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2004, 10:00 PM
Jason Kardong Jason Kardong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 83
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

We have been using Windows Server 2003 since the beta, and I can tell you that things that work on XP do not always work 100% on 2003. For the most part, security patches have been different or don't work, IIS settings need tweeking, and rendering sometimes does not look pretty like in XP. Not that you really care regarding ProTools, but also some .NET third party applications have not worked very well on server 2003, and we had to roll back our OS.

That said, my guess is though that it will run, but I would tell your friend to hold off until DigiDesign approves it. Unless you have to use 2003, it might be prudent to wait just a bit longer.

On the other hand, if your friend just wants to try it, and doesn't really care if he/she has issues, then go for it and let us know what happens. You can be a pioneer!

Good Luck
Jason

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-31-2004, 10:18 PM
xeetstreet xeetstreet is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Holland, MI - Osage Beach, MO - Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Posts: 343
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

What's the point of installing it? (Just out of curiosity...)
__________________
www.xeetstreetband.com
Intel 486 75Mhz - 16Mb RAM - Audiomedia III - Session Software
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-31-2004, 10:33 PM
Victorious Victorious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: Windows Server 2003

I just got a new computer and I'm deciding which OS to run on it. My friend wants me to use Windows Server 2003 cause he says it's more stable or whatever. Thanks for all your help guys. You told me pretty much exactly what I wanted to hear.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
windows server 2003 dwgill General Discussion 1 07-30-2006 02:30 PM
support for windows server 2003 dwgill Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 07-30-2006 12:45 PM
Will ProTools run on Windows Server 2003? Cavet Your Eruptor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-12-2006 01:43 PM
Windows Server 2003 work with 6.1? dfusion 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-21-2003 01:57 PM
Windows server 2003+windows resource manager. odysseys 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-20-2003 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com