Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2000, 03:34 PM
XCLAIM XCLAIM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1998
Location: Lynn MA 01904
Posts: 44
Default Sound Replacer Drum Samples

Any suggestions where to buy or find a great collection of Rock snare or kick drum samples for use with Sound Replacer
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2000, 04:53 PM
adam_w1 adam_w1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 203
Default Re: Sound Replacer Drum Samples

Both the Bob Clearmountain drum sample CD's
are pretty good. Not (cough) that I'm the kind of guy who'd replace your kick drum when you're not looking. Ahem.
__________________
life is too short for bad mixes.
online mixing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-04-2000, 09:22 AM
knewbee knewbee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 284
Default Re: Sound Replacer Drum Samples

But most, if not all the samples on that CD have extensive velocity switch info in them. I'm not sure how that would affect using sound replacer. You'd probably just have to pick one sample to use. Unless Sound Replacer is intelligent enough to do velocity switch stuff on it's own.
Is it...?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-04-2000, 09:36 AM
i-listen i-listen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oviedo, FL. USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Sound Replacer Drum Samples

It does handle velocity, in it's own way. You can set 3 different samples to 3 different peak settings from the original waveform. What I'll do is record say, a snare sample at soft, medium and hard velocities. I'll then set the 3 threshold levels in SoundReplacer accordingly. You can also turn on a "match peak" setting and you get even more dynamic movement between the 3 samples. Way cool.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-04-2000, 08:50 PM
ratz ratz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Bridgewater, NJ 08807
Posts: 205
Default Re: Sound Replacer Drum Samples

I use the Clearmountain sample CDs... works great!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-04-2000, 10:21 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Allison Park, PA (Near Pittsburgh)
Posts: 5,099
Default Re: Sound Replacer Drum Samples

On my sampler, I've used the Ilio Double Platinum Drums as well as the Peter Erskine samples.

I don't have the BC disks, so I can't compare, but the above are nice - especially the DP Drums.



------------------
LW
__________________
Larry

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2000, 02:29 PM
bluemt bluemt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 392
Default Re: Sound Replacer Drum Samples

Anyone know how I can convert my Kurzweil formatted Clearmountain Drum CDs and Akai drum CD's to .wav or Sd2 for use with Sound Replacer?

Sorry to stray off topic.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2000, 07:16 PM
Juergen Juergen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Asuncion, Paraguay
Posts: 301
Default Re: Sound Replacer Drum Samples

Does anyone know where I can find sample cd's online, at good deals? The Clearmountain cd for example...

Thanks!

Juergen
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-2000, 08:23 PM
sidereal sidereal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: san francisco ca usa
Posts: 380
Default Re: Sound Replacer Drum Samples

bluemt....
There's a software utility called Osmosis that should be able to make the conversion.

You guys might also want to try Sound Dogs for drum samples. Apparently they sell individual samples rathar than full libraries, although I've never bought from them.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-07-2000, 03:25 AM
Bill Rigby Bill Rigby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Sydney,NSW,Australia
Posts: 206
Default Re: Sound Replacer Drum Samples

Sorry to stray off topic,but you guys seem to be interested in the sample side of life, has anyone heard the Mirislav Virtuos classical collection for Gigasampler? Always on the lookout for the `ultimate` Orchestra. I live in Australia and the only way to get it is over the net... about $3000.00 Aus (Crikey!)
Dont want to buy it before a thorough listening
Thanks in advance
Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drum samples for Sound Replacer Blackers The Drum Room 9 02-12-2018 06:06 PM
Making Drum Samples from CD for Sound Replacer/Drumagog? millzboy Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 06-10-2010 04:54 PM
Is there a drum replacer/sound replacer??? sethbrand General Discussion 2 03-08-2006 09:40 AM
my sound replacer makes the samples sound higher joeldavidlauver Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-24-2005 08:59 AM
What Drum Samples for 'Sound Replacer' Plug-in? mach-1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-07-2005 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com