Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2021, 07:11 AM
rimskykorsakov rimskykorsakov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

Hello community ,


after 14 years and 3 months of being a member of this Forum, I finally decided to ask a question :


I currently own a “ProTools Standard” Perpetual License , including already paid support/update plans until the year 2030 .
Now I want to take advantage of AVID’s recent special offer and buy a ProTools CARBON Interface to get a free Permanent license for “ProTools Ultimate”,
but without buying any further support/update plan for this license.

I will install “ProTools Ultimate” on its own dedicated MacPro2013 , which I run under OS Mojave , and that I won’t update anymore ,
so a current “ProTools Ultimate” version that works on this system hopefully doesn’t need to be updated either in the future .



My question :


When I add a “ProTools Ultimate” license into my existing AVID account and store the “ProTools Ultimate” license on the same iLok where my “ProTools Standard” license and its support plans are stored ,
could this “ProTools Ultimate” license kind of overwrite the “ProTools Standard” license and its related already paid support plans ?

Should I create a new AVID account , dedicated for the perpetual “ProTools Ultimate” license only to avoid any issue between the Ultimate and the Standard licenses ?
Or is it enough to store this license on a different iLok key ?

Thanks in advance for any infos and insights on this ,
best
Gerd
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2021, 07:42 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

Hi Gerd, and congratulations on your first post on the DUC!

I don't pretend to know everything about this topic, but I'll just start off with what I do know. This time of the day there is usually less activity here, I guess because it's still early in the day in North America, so you should have more answers in the coming hours.

First, an installation of PT contains both standard and ultimate, so it's the license that decides what features you get when you start PT. So, no separate installers. One installer only.

I don't think you should create a separate iLok account. There is no reason for it, it might just involve problems. You can have many different PT licenses on your iLok account, no problem, then you use the iLok License manger app to "install" one or more onto a specific iLok dongle.

If you want to use the two licenses at two different locations at the same time, you will of course need two dongles. Same ilok account, two iLoks.
Good luck.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six-core 3.2gHz i7, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command|8, SSL UC1.
Pro Tools 2020.11.0.157, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-07-2021, 07:50 AM
rimskykorsakov rimskykorsakov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

Hello Ben ,
thank you so much for the infos , much appreciated !
Very helpful , indeed.


Best wishes , and "Tusen takk "
Gerd
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-07-2021, 09:32 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,434
Default Re: Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

Carbon requires macOS 10.15
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-07-2021, 09:40 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,234
Default Re: Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

To add to this discussion, If you have both Protools Standard and Protools Ultimate on one iLok dongle, I believe Protools will launch Protools Ultimate given that it is the more featured version of Protools that you are authorized to run. I would suggest getting a second iLok dongle (about $50 USD) for the Protools Ultimate license. Both Protools licenses and iLok dongles can be under the same iLok account but place each license on a separate iLok dongle. That way you are clear to insert only the iLok dongle for the desired version of Protools you want to run.

In the future when your Protools Ultimate license lapses due to not updating the Perpetual Annual Upgrade and Support plan, that license will be locked into the last version you were able to upgrade to at the time. There are essentially no reinstatement licenses available anymore. If you opt to continue to update Protools Ultimate with the Annual Upgrade and Support plan, that is your choice.

For your Protools Standard license, you may continue your Annual Upgrade and Support plan (through 2030) as you have been doing already.

If you happen to place both licenses onto one iLok dongle, when the Protools Ultimate lapses, it may continue to only launch that locked version of Protools Ultimate and not the continually updated version of Protools Standard that you paid through 2030.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.6 running Protools 2021.10
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2021, 09:45 AM
rimskykorsakov rimskykorsakov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetroitT View Post
Carbon requires macOS 10.15

Oh , thank you , good to know , DetroitT!! Very important info !

Best

Gerd
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2021, 09:48 AM
rimskykorsakov rimskykorsakov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
To add to this discussion, ...
Lots of valuable infos , which answers all my questions ! Really appreciate your help , Dragon !


Best
Gerd
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2021, 11:26 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,274
Default Re: Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

A bit more info:
1-keeping 2 licenses on the same iLok is a bad idea for a few reasons(happy to share if it matters). Either move 1 license to a second iLok(which I also recommend), or simply deactivate one license. That puts it back into your "available" licenses(this would be handy in case you ran into a situation where you needed to open PT, but forgot your iLok. You could start a "cloud" session if you had an internet connection).
2-the installer for Pro Tools and Pro Tools Ultimate are actually the same installer. Its the iLok license that tells the software which features to unlock
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-07-2021, 12:22 PM
rimskykorsakov rimskykorsakov is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
A bit more info:
1-keeping 2 licenses on the same iLok is a bad idea for a few reasons(happy to share if it matters). Either move 1 license to a second iLok(which I also recommend), or simply deactivate one license. That puts it back into your "available" licenses(this would be handy in case you ran into a situation where you needed to open PT, but forgot your iLok. You could start a "cloud" session if you had an internet connection).
Thank you albee1952 for this advice !!!
Much appreciated

Best,
Gerd
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-07-2021, 01:55 PM
sdelsolray sdelsolray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 175
Default Re: Ultimate Perpetual license on same iLok as Standard license

One problem with using two iLoks is that many needed third party plugins will only be on one of the iLoks and not the other.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Carbon come with a Perpetual Ultimate PT license Southsidemusic Pro Tools | Carbon 7 09-19-2021 06:11 PM
Pro Tools Ultimate 12 perpetual license robertmale Licensing & Accounts 3 03-25-2021 01:44 PM
WTB: Pro Tools standard perpetual license The Foreigner Buy & Sell 0 07-01-2020 11:33 AM
WTB: Pro Tools (non-HD / Ultimate) Perpetual License Proteinshake Buy & Sell 0 05-07-2020 12:42 AM
Open PT Standard with PT Ultimate iLok license? EdgarRothermich Pro Tools 2019 3 03-09-2020 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com