Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2021, 05:44 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 829
Default 2021 TDM HD4 Win XP

This is a project I've attempted before but never got it to were I felt comfortable relying on it it for serious work as a remote rig, I've tried it with Win 7 64bit and it crashed PT about half way through a live set where we had vocals into my system and a line out feed from PT to the PA which totally ruined the groove. Also tried Snow Leopard as some have suggested and I never liked it either.

System specs:
Jetway NAF93-Q77 ATX Motherboard
Intel Core i5 -3470 Ivy Bridge Quad-Core 3.2 GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 4GB DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
Kingston 120GB Mini-SATA (mSATA) MLC SMS200S3/120G (OS/Apps)
Two WD VelociRaptor WD3000HLHX 300GB 10000 RPM SATA 6.0Gb (Audio)
GIGABYTE GV-N660OC-2GD G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 660 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5
Digidesign HD PCI Core
Three Digidesign HD PCI Accel cards
All in a 19" Rack mount chassis
Win XP Pro SP3
Pro Tools HD 8.1.1
Right now I/O is handled by a single Digidesign 192 Analog

I finally realized I should just go with Digidesign/Avid's recommended system for PT HD 8.1.1 which is XP on the windoz side of things. I've got a lot of experience installing Win XP, mostly for people I used to work with who crapped their system downloading porn or cracked software, I live for the advanced tabs in XP. Took several days to get everything settled and stable, tried a lot of different things such as slot order for the HD cards (had to reverse slot order in Win 7 last time), this time slot order worked as it should, core closest to video card.

This is a bigger post but have issues posting it. I'll just reply with the rest of it.
__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
Win 10 Pro

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2021, 05:47 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 829
Default Re: 2021 TDM HD4 Win XP

I've done a little system testing so far;

1st:
I have a large iTunes library on my main PC and the motherboard has an optical SPDIF output which I ran into Pro Tools via the chassis optical ADAT/SPDIF input of the 192 and slaved PT to the SPDIF input. I set iTunes to shuffle and hit play. In PT I setup 24 stereo channels with all set to the SPDIF for input, put all in record then went to bed in order to see how long it would record, no plugins engaged. I had the two 10K hard drives set up for round robin recording and when I got up it had recorded for about 7.5 hrs before I got a lack of disk space warning. Audio files on the hard drive were 3.9 GB in size which I believe is a Windoz limit. Settings in PT where 48 voices and a 64 buffer.

2nd:
Loaded what TDM plugins I own and set up metering (PT 8 metering leaves a lot to be desired compared to Ultimate 2019.12), a compressor and an EQ which pretty much maxed out my available DSP. Settings now are 128 voices with a 256 buffer.

3rd:
Turned off round-robin disk allocation and created 24 stereo input all set to the SPDIF with the afore mentioned plugins and put it into record. Voice and buffer still 128 with 256 buffer and the above listed plugins all on each track while in record. Currently at 55 minutes and still going strong. Will let it run as long as I can until I get some sort of error.

I'm actually impressed with this system at this point and I need stability for live set recording. I hope to maybe get a small club PA system where I can control all aspects of the recording/live mix. I currently have a Panasonic/Ramsa DA7 console with ADAT cards & meterbridge, 16 mic/line inputs and 16 ADAT returns to monitor plus a Focusrite Clarett Octopre to use for 24 mic/line inputs. The DA7 is in a road case and I can fit the PC along with a 192 Analog plus a 192 Digital in a 8 space 19" rack. Live mixing with be from the 16 ADAT monitor returns on the DA7's 2nd/return layer with stems from the PT system, shouldn't be too hard to set up. Main reason I want this is I really don't want to drag elements of my main system out where no telling what could happen, my Pro Tools 8 is on an old iLok 1 which is plugged into an internal USB port in the PC.

Pics of various stages of above.

Initial Record Test



System Resources



TDM Plugin Testing

__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
Win 10 Pro

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6

Last edited by Sugarnutz; 07-14-2021 at 06:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-14-2021, 05:50 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 829
Default Re: 2021 TDM HD4 Win XP

Currently at 2 hours recording and still going.
__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
Win 10 Pro

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-14-2021, 10:36 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 829
Default Re: 2021 TDM HD4 Win XP

Made it to 7 hours without a hiccup. Installing my impulse libraries to Space and IR1 now.
__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
Win 10 Pro

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-15-2021, 09:43 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,286
Default Re: 2021 TDM HD4 Win XP

Glad you're having success! Personally, I would have gone with Windows 7 x64 and PT 10 HD(but if you decide to try that route, I would swap in another C: drive and keep what you have intact)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-15-2021, 01:34 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 829
Default Re: 2021 TDM HD4 Win XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
Glad you're having success! Personally, I would have gone with Windows 7 x64 and PT 10 HD(but if you decide to try that route, I would swap in another C: drive and keep what you have intact)

I did Win7 on this same rig before and it couldn't get through a full set without PT crashing on PT 8.1.1 (I didn't have 10HD at the time). When I woke up this morning PT had stopped (didn't crash) after 7+ hours of recording 24 mono tracks because the audio files had reached max NTFS file size. This PC is in a 19" rack chassis and I mounted an old USB backplane inside the case where I put my original blue iLok for PT 8. Space and an Oxford Inflator DSP plugins, this way I don't have to worry about losing the iLok due to it falling out or some idiot pulling it out going "What's this?" as this will be used in clubs, churches & such. So far it only stops when I hit max NTFS file size. I have thought about adding another hard drive with Win 7/PT 10HD but that will be at a later time.

My mixing rig at the house is an i9 monster running Win 10 Pro/PT Ultimate 2019.12 with an Avid TB Native interface and D-Command. This rig is strictly for tracking but on one test I used 72 DSP plugins across 24 stereo tracks in record for over 7 hours so it can do some limited mixing chores if needed.
__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
Win 10 Pro

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2021.6 QOL Improvements smurfyou Post - Surround - Video 1 06-25-2021 08:59 AM
No SRC in 2021.3.1 JanuS Pro Tools 2021 10 06-02-2021 08:55 AM
PT 2021.3 on macOS 11.3 DerrickC Pro Tools 2021 3 04-27-2021 07:39 PM
2021.3.1 innesireinar Pro Tools 2021 80 04-22-2021 02:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com