Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2015, 10:47 PM
Mike496's Avatar
Mike496 Mike496 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 340
Default S3 Control Surface and AVB Interface ???

Hi Everyone,

I'm hoping you can assist me with some questions and issues i'm having with my S3.

Control Surface
I'm coming off the road with an S3L-X system and I'm now trying to use the S3 with protools as an interface and Control Surface. I am currently able to use the S3 as a control surface but when ever I jump to another app, like google, the S3 goes into a standby or nonuse mode. The fader, drop from their mix positions and the LEDs turn mostly blank. Is everyone else experiencing this? Is this the standard functioning for Eucon products?!

Interface
Neither Protools or Midi Audio Setup see the S3 as an AVB interface available. I was under the impression that the S3 could not be used as a 2X4 interface, is this not the case? While on tour I was able to record to and playback from my MPB just fine.

I'm running on the follow system.

PT HD 11.2
2011 MBP (late)
OSX 10.9.5
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2015, 11:06 PM
Mike496's Avatar
Mike496 Mike496 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 340
Default Re: S3 Control Surface and AVB Interface ???

Quick update, I got the AVB working, I found the issue in the Audio MIDI Setup application. I needed to enable the S3 option in the Network Device Browser under Audio MIDI Setup -> Window -> Audio Devices.

After getting the AVB up and running I'm sad to discover the conversion option is only 48k, I've read that higher sample rates are possibly coming but I am surprised to see that 44.1 is not even available at this time. SMH.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 9.53.21 PM.jpg (64.6 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2015, 11:35 PM
Mike496's Avatar
Mike496 Mike496 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 340
Default Re: S3 Control Surface and AVB Interface ???

I found the answer to my faders and app specific function only. I needed to "lock to application" in the Eucon app.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 10.31.50 PM.jpg (82.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2015, 06:13 PM
Norrie's Avatar
Norrie Norrie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 116
Default Re: S3 Control Surface and AVB Interface ???

Just seeing this but yes lock to application is the way to go.

It would also be nice to see the AVB with 96k it's one thing among others that I hope to see with a firmware update

I always work at 96k so would be nice to grab the S3 and run it on location without the need to take my ensemble
__________________
I don't suffer from insanity -- I enjoy every minute of it !

Avid S3
Artist Transport
Pro Tools HD 12
UAD Apollo 8P
Audient ASP 880
Mac Pro TrashCan
3.5 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5, 32GB ram
Adams A77x
UAD Quad Thunderbolt Satellite
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: M-Audio Project Mix I/O Control Surface & Recording Interface RomanMtz Buy & Sell 5 05-21-2014 07:40 AM
Digi 002 Control Surface as Just an Audio Interface littlegreenmen13 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-07-2011 05:53 AM
002 as control surface with seperate interface in PT9 alxt Pro Tools 9 9 12-01-2010 12:39 AM
Will LE users ever get HEAT or a NEW INTERFACE/CONTROL SURFACE??? windsongstudios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 08-23-2010 07:27 AM
Control surface - MIDI interface Freakybeatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 09-25-2004 05:28 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com