Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2011, 07:24 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,951
Default Structure LE and Structure Full Question

I just got the PTIEP.
I have sessions with Structure LE on them.
Can Structure Full and Structure LE coexist within Pro Tools
Or
Do I have to uninstall Structure LE?

Thanks
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.7
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2011, 08:17 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Structure LE and Structure Full Question

Good question, I'm assuming that when installing Creative Collection ( Structure Free) a dialog stating a higher edition of Structure already exists. In other words, Structure would replace Structure LE. That a side, Structure LE Plug-In settings and Patch will open with Structure.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2011, 10:31 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Structure LE and Structure Full Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
Good question, I'm assuming that when installing Creative Collection ( Structure Free) a dialog stating a higher edition of Structure already exists. In other words, Structure would replace Structure LE. That a side, Structure LE Plug-In settings and Patch will open with Structure.
Indeed.

There's no reason to have both because full Structure does everything LE can. In the same way that Xpand2 replaces its predecessor.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2011, 06:59 AM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: Structure LE and Structure Full Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dism View Post
Indeed.

There's no reason to have both because full Structure does everything LE can. In the same way that Xpand2 replaces its predecessor.
Indeed.

But... The reason I ask is because I have personal unfinished pieces of music using Structure LE. In these sessions Structure LE is set up and tweaked specifically for that song in its session.

To go through every session and recreate the settings that I used in Structure LE would a serious undertaking.

Is this making sense to anyone?
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.7
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:00 AM
Paulthe3rd Paulthe3rd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 35
Default Re: Structure LE and Structure Full Question

Full blown Structure should load your settings exact. Structure LE would not be able to load all of the parameters of the full blown version. You should be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:59 AM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,951
Default Re: Structure LE and Structure Full Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulthe3rd View Post
Full blown Structure should load your settings exact. Structure LE would not be able to load all of the parameters of the full blown version. You should be fine.
If I am understanding you correctly when I install Structure Full it will replace Structure LE. And when I open up a session that had Structure LE in it. All the settings from Structure LE will populate within Structure Full in that session?

I just do not think trust AVID and Structure Full to that intelligent.
If someone can confirm the above that would be swell.

But until then Russ gave me a viable workaround.

Quote:
Go to your plug in folder.

Create a new folder called 'old structure'

Drag the LE version into that folder.

If you ever need to use LE again simply swap the LE version in the folder with the full one.

R
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.7
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2011, 12:33 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Structure LE and Structure Full Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip888 View Post
If I am understanding you correctly when I install Structure Full it will replace Structure LE. And when I open up a session that had Structure LE in it. All the settings from Structure LE will populate within Structure Full in that session?

I just do not think trust AVID and Structure Full to that intelligent.
If someone can confirm the above that would be swell.

But until then Russ gave me a viable workaround.
I trust it just fine... Mostly because all sessions with Xpand migrated to Xpand2 perfectly for me. Never had to pick new sounds or change any settings. Why should it be any different for Structure?

Of course, it never hurts to be prepared, but plugins get updated all the time and I've never lost anything due to it. Session specific plugin settings are always retained with sessions, not the plugin itself.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Structure Full showing as Structure le Dj-Ike Virtual Instruments 8 04-15-2010 04:09 PM
Structure Full: Modulation matrix modifiers question systemexclusive Virtual Instruments 0 02-21-2010 11:36 AM
can't open Structure LE in Structure Full version walter rohrbach Virtual Instruments 7 08-10-2009 04:02 PM
Structure Full Database View Question David Penick Virtual Instruments 2 01-30-2009 08:35 PM
Structure Full Featured midi enable question LeeE Virtual Instruments 6 03-10-2008 07:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com