Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2010, 09:03 AM
Heck Heck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 115
Default Pro Tools 9 Native vs Pro Tools 9 w/ Complete Production Toolkit

Ok so I just spent $6000 on a Pro Tools Native system and I can't help but feeling like a sucker after yesterdays announcement.

Can someone please tell me what the point of HD Native is now that PT 9 has arrived. It seems like buying 9 with the Complete Production Toolkit gets you the EXACT same thing as PT HD 9 Native. Please someone tell me what I'm missing here.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-05-2010, 09:40 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Native vs Pro Tools 9 w/ Complete Production Toolkit

Not true.

Check the comparison sheet. There are differences.

E.G. PT9+CPTK will let you record 32 simultanous channels PTHD will give 64. I beleive the same goes for outputs.

How about Input Monitering? etc. The list goes on.

PT HD still has its advantages

The adage with PT has always been to buy what you need at the moment. Whether you could do what you need with PT9+ CPTK vs 9HD
can only be determined by you.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-05-2010, 09:42 AM
CF Buck CF Buck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 66
Unhappy Re: Pro Tools 9 Native vs Pro Tools 9 w/ Complete Production Toolkit

I feel you. I thought I got ripped off too with a recent purchase, but you must really feel like sh--...

Sorry that sucks..And where the hell is the 64 bit version anyway.

They say major update but where 64 bit then!!!????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-05-2010, 10:51 AM
mike connelly mike connelly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Native vs Pro Tools 9 w/ Complete Production Toolkit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heck View Post
Please someone tell me what I'm missing here.
Several thousand dollars.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-05-2010, 11:56 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,275
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Native vs Pro Tools 9 w/ Complete Production Toolkit

Its growing pains and many will feel some of it, depending on when they bought in. Sadly, there's really no way for Avid to please everybody thru such a major transition. I think HD will still hold a place in the PRO world, so I would not feel so bad about it.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-05-2010, 12:26 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,833
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Native vs Pro Tools 9 w/ Complete Production Toolkit

First of all, since they don't actually start shipping until now, you should be able to cancel your order, if you want. Shouldn't be that big a deal.

But FYI, HD Native gives a few advantages:

1. 64 I/O vs. 32

2. The ability to use the various Satellite, Video Satellite, and Sync HD products. While this is aimed at Post guys, it may have advantages for music also.

3. The ability to use the new Avid HD interfaces. This is not a small thing, as they are reported to sound amazing, some of the best around.

4. Also, with the design of the new HD interfaces, it achieves lower latency vs. other interfaces with the same buffer setting. I.E., a 128 buffer feels more like 64, 64 is more like 32, etc.

5. The stability of PCI, vs. firewire or usb.

6. Having an integrated high end solution with software and hardware designed by the same company.

And if you think about it, to get all that you get with the Omni bundle, with a reasonably high quality converter, it's not as cheap as you might think.

For example, let's say you get a Rosetta 200, that's $1800. Then you get the X-Firewire card to use it as an interface, that's $355. Then you buy Protools 9 for $600. Complete Toolkit for $2000.

Now you're already up to $4755, and you still don't have any preamps or a monitor controller.

This would be somewhat cheaper if you're crossgrading from LE, and/or already have the Complete Toolkit, but you get the general idea.

So Protools 9 works out cheaper if you're getting a low to mid budget interface, but once you start getting to the higher quality stuff, HD Native is quite competitive.

And if you already have Complete Toolkit, and PT LE and hardware, you may be able to sell them, offsetting your costs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-05-2010, 01:52 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Native vs Pro Tools 9 w/ Complete Production Toolkit

Well said nst7.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-07-2010, 09:12 AM
Heck Heck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 115
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Native vs Pro Tools 9 w/ Complete Production Toolkit

Well said indeed. I did more research and when you start looking at monitoring etc it really does start to get expensive with third party options.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Much Longer Will the Complete Production Toolkit Be Available for Pro Tools 10? TRUN Pro Tools 10 23 10-29-2016 09:35 AM
Input monitoring IN HDX/Native or Complete Production Toolkit txshonk Pro Tools 10 18 04-30-2012 07:32 PM
If i buy the complete production toolkit will i have pro tools hd? elvolutionstudios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 02-05-2011 01:27 AM
Pro Tools 9 w/ Complete Production Toolkit 2 003 tryn2chanjdgame Pro Tools 9 2 11-05-2010 12:43 PM
Pro Tools 8 Complete Production Toolkit problem isobara 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-04-2009 09:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com