Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-27-2007, 03:45 AM

Default DV Toolkit 2 Newbie Questions - Working With Video

I’ve scoured the sparse documentation that comes with DV Toolkit 2, and still have questions regarding a few basic points. As is obvious, I’m just getting started with applying Audio to Video, and any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

1) How to match the Audio with a QuickTime movies frame-rate? Or with any of the three compatible video formats that DV Toolkit works with?

2) Can the video frame-rate [fps] of a finished video be reset? Or is it that once the video is completed, the frame-rate is set in stone?

3) Does anyone know of a good source of basic “how-to” when it comes to working with DV Toolkit 2?

System info:
Pro Tools LE, version 7.3.1, digi002, Windows XP, 4GB ram, Pentium IV.
Old 08-27-2007, 07:03 AM

Default Re: DV Toolkit 2 Newbie Questions - Working With Video

Not sure what your question is. Can you explain your problem, and maybe I can help.

Any samplerate can be used with any fps, so matching audio to the fps is not a problem. However I recommend you work either with 48 khz or 96 khz since your mix will probably end up 16 bit 48 khz on tape. This will work fine with DV-Pal and H.264 (what is the third?)

The framerate of a videofile can be played at different speeds. The standard framerate or fps is 25 frames per second on European TV. (The PAL standard) 24 fps is the standard for 35mm film for Cinema.
The states have lots of different framerate-standards which I'm glad I don't meet here in Norway. ;-)