Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2007, 11:15 PM
arthur s arthur s is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: brooklyn, ny, usa
Posts: 18
Default Like to move computer & drives to next room - cable length?

Hello. I'm using a Mac G5 tower with a Digi002.

During the summer when the computer's fan gets going it gets a bit loud, and also the room gets a bit hot with the computer and the hard drives going.

I would like to move the computer and hard drives into the next room. This would mean at least 20 foot cables for the monitor, USB cables for keyboard/mouse, and firewire for my Digi 002 audio device, hard drives, etc....

Is this too much cable length to be pushing around this much data? Good idea or not?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2007, 11:56 PM
1m1 1m1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 737
Default Re: Like to move computer & drives to next room - cable length?

In my experience, 20 foot cables for monitor, no problem - USB with the right cabling (two Belkin active 5 meter extensions in series OR the IOGEAR guce50 extender), no problem - firewire, i've never tried that long a cable.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2007, 07:31 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Like to move computer & drives to next room - cable length?

Firewire has a 14 foot max length without a hub or repeater. Up to 16 cables can be daisy chained using active repeaters, external hubs, or internal hubs often present in FireWire equipment. The S400 standard limits any configuration's maximum cable length to 72 meters. Of course you can use fiber to go as far as you like.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable length from Converters to computer jkess Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 09-10-2008 10:38 AM
Cable Length GTBannah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 01-17-2007 11:54 AM
Length of snake from live to control room? Stukface Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-29-2003 02:47 AM
How can I put the computer and hard drives in a machine room. rodrigal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-27-2001 04:46 AM
Cable length? vinylist General Discussion 3 01-17-2001 01:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com