Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2006, 08:05 PM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 208
Default Can anyone help with Allenstein HDD configuration?

I’m using the last-generation Allenstein PC with my Digi 002 Rack system. I had an ASUS K8V SE Deluxe mobo die within the warranty period… ASUS supplied a replacement which was recently installed by a local tech.

I have 2 hard drives in this PC (system and audio), which has been running ProTools LE v6.4 just great until this recent mobo problem. The harddrives had previously been configured as recommended by Digidesign, i.e., in a standard IDE configuration, NOT a RAID configuration.

One thing that’s really got me stumped since getting the PC back after the mobo replacement is the harddrive configuration. If I go into My Computer I can see both harddrives… both these are visible in Windows Explorer etc and appear to be fully functional. Now if I go into the BIOS, I notice that the harddrive configuration is set to RAID, NOT “Standard IDE operation” or whatever that particular setting is called (n.b., the Promise controller has been enabled). If I change this BIOS setting from RAID to “Standard IDE operation”, once the PC boots up I can no longer see the second (audio) drive in My Computer/Windows Explorer etc.

What’s even weirder is this – if I go back to the BIOS and revert to the RAID setting, then not only can I see both drives in My Computer etc, Pro Tools seems to be able to open and run my previously saved session files without a hitch.

Any suggestions as to why I don’t see my second harddrive when the BIOS is set to “standard IDE operation”. Do I need to be concerned about this, or can I just continue with the present (RAID) setting??

Thanks people, appreciate your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2006, 12:44 AM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 208
Default Re: Can anyone help with Allenstein HDD configurat

bump
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2006, 05:39 PM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 208
Default Re: Can anyone help with Allenstein HDD configurat

Bump x 2!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2006, 07:20 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,282
Default Re: Can anyone help with Allenstein HDD configurat

This is a stretch, but what the hey?! I would try this: Turn off the computer and unplug your audio drive ribbon cable. Start and go to BIOS and select the IDE (not RAID) setup and save/exit. Assuming WIndows is up and running fine, shut it down. Reconnect the audio drive and reboot(maybe check BIOS to see if it recognizes the second drive) and boot to Windows. If your My Computer does not see the drive, right-click on My Computer and select Manage>Disk Management. You may be able to enable the drive from this window. Good luck.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2006, 08:03 PM
Tubthumper Tubthumper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oz
Posts: 208
Default Re: Can anyone help with Allenstein HDD configurat

Cheers Albee, I'll give it a bash.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
under $600 Allenstein guy.fi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 11-15-2007 01:38 PM
To Allenstein or not to Allenstein? keithkeds 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-22-2005 11:29 PM
Allenstein vs Mac mantaray 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 05-30-2005 02:08 PM
Allenstein 64 bit ok for PT HD? bossa 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-21-2005 10:55 AM
New Allenstein drasmith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 09-09-2004 11:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com