Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-20-2021, 10:25 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 479
Default Re: MTRX Studio using Dante only

The RME looks interesting, thanks.

In order not to connect it to the Mac via USB, would the connectivity be Mac Ethernet > RME > MRTX Dante, all via Cat 6 cables?
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 128 GB RAM, Mac OS Big Sur, Samsung EVO SSD
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-20-2021, 11:07 AM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 425
Default Re: MTRX Studio using Dante only

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
I’ve not used it but there’s this:
https://rme-audio.com/digiface-dante.html
I reviewed that too, but not with the MTRX.
It would be an excellent external option.

https://www.pro-tools-expert.com/pro...terface-tested
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro 16 core, 192GB, 8TB
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-20-2021, 11:21 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 479
Default Re: MTRX Studio using Dante only

Thanks, great review--
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, Avid MTRX, MOM, Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 128 GB RAM, Mac OS Big Sur, Samsung EVO SSD
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-20-2021, 12:40 PM
MarkH MarkH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA.
Posts: 256
Default Re: MTRX Studio using Dante only

On the topic of Dante, would love to hear thoughts on Analog-Dante dynamic range. For example Ferrofish, Tascam, Focusrite Dante-Analog dynamic range is anywhere from 109-119dB. Avid MTRX Prestine 8 Channel DA is 128dB. If your ingesting on MTRX Prestine 8 then later routing audio out Dante > Analog through one of the other units and bringing it back in Analog > Dante, the audio would lose some of the dynamic range, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-20-2021, 02:58 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 425
Default Re: MTRX Studio using Dante only

Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
The RME looks interesting, thanks.

In order not to connect it to the Mac via USB, would the connectivity be Mac Ethernet > RME > MRTX Dante, all via Cat 6 cables?
FWIW you need to connect the RME to the host computer via USB.
It will not work via Ethernet.
That was something that had me puzzled when I first tested it.
The manual explains it but RME manuals are written for techs, by techs- so it isn't always apparent what is the right approach to take,
I think I mention this in the review.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro 16 core, 192GB, 8TB
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-20-2021, 03:00 PM
uptheoctave uptheoctave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Oxfordshire and Geneva.
Posts: 425
Default Re: MTRX Studio using Dante only

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkH View Post
On the topic of Dante, would love to hear thoughts on Analog-Dante dynamic range. For example Ferrofish, Tascam, Focusrite Dante-Analog dynamic range is anywhere from 109-119dB. Avid MTRX Prestine 8 Channel DA is 128dB. If your ingesting on MTRX Prestine 8 then later routing audio out Dante > Analog through one of the other units and bringing it back in Analog > Dante, the audio would lose some of the dynamic range, correct?
I do this a lot- it isn't an issue.
Given I am slamming it through hardware compressors and trying to squash them down I don't think dynamic range is a major issue.
The average rock song probably has a max of 10dB dynamic range anyway.
__________________
James Richmond

2019 Mac Pro 16 core, 192GB, 8TB
Avid HDX, MTRX, Focusrite Rednet PCIER, Red 16Line, UA Apollo X8, Trinnov MC8 Pro.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MTRX Studio with Dante PciE card Goombot Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 8 11-07-2021 01:01 PM
Dante SRC on MTRX Studio ViciousLullabyz Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 05-10-2021 04:58 AM
MTRX Studio with Dante PCIe in a new Mac Pro joepopp Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 04-30-2021 05:00 AM
MTRX Studio doesn't show up in Dante Cheesehead Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 5 12-02-2020 09:02 PM
MTRX Studio Mac Pro Not in Synch on Dante Network Goombot Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 10-15-2020 02:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com