Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2008, 12:31 AM
anal-log anal-log is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 43
Default Can\'t import the selected video

Hello all..

I have a Mbox mini, on a Dual 1.42 mdd, running 10.4.9. Tiger
I just updated to 7.4LE and when I try to import video I get the message "Can't import the selected video file because it does not contain any video frames"

So I reinstalled 7.3 and have no problems with the video at all, same session, same video.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2008, 09:24 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: Can\'t import the selected video

What format is the video in? Are you trying to import it into a new session or a previously created session?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2008, 12:36 PM
anal-log anal-log is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 43
Default Re: Can\'t import the selected video

Quote:
What format is the video in? Are you trying to import it into a new session or a previously created session?
The movie is Quicktime H.264, I've tried a new session as well as a previously created session.
Everthing works in PT7.3 but not when I upgrade to PT7.4.
The only way I found out to get it to work in 7.4 is convert to all my videsos to DV.
Whats the difference between PT7.3 and 7.4?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-22-2008, 03:07 AM
anal-log anal-log is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 43
Default Re: Can\'t import the selected video

Well finally figured it out.

Pro tools 7.4 does not like "/" not only in the name of the video. You can't have a "/" any where in the path name.
I have my videos in a folder named "Quicktime/Guide tracks" Got rid of the "/" in the folder name and all is well.


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-24-2008, 09:21 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,827
Default Re: Can\'t import the selected video

^ ! < > / ( ) - ; are pretty much all illegal in Protools filenames, pathnames, etc.,
you can use them in label names, but anything else is looking for trouble.
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2008, 06:19 PM
mikevarela mikevarela is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 571
Default Re: Can\'t import the selected video

quick question on that last line.... are you saying that the video file then needs to be in the pro tools folder of the session im workign on.

in my case, i have the video files on a seperate drive (internal) in a folder called video, with sub folders named by projects. i import video into pro tools 7.4 from the dialog and from that seperate drive. of course there are slashes '/' in the file path, because the video resides on another drive. how do i deal with this...

i want the video on another drive because of speed issues.
__________________
NuanceTone.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:35 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,110
Default Re: Can\'t import the selected video

I think the problem arises if those symbols are used as part of the filename itself e.g "ABC Movie/XYZ Soundtrack" would be a no no as the OS treats the '/' symbol as a part of the path address.

http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2010, 01:34 PM
jjmoon jjmoon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 40
Default Re: Can't import the selected video

Wow, that just saved me too.

It was an " / " in the video folder name.

Thanks for posting fix.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unused regions not selected *Video* Top Jimmy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-17-2011 02:13 PM
Help!! Can't import the selected video file. (Pro Tools 8) elsterNJ Post - Surround - Video 2 10-27-2010 06:22 PM
How do I import DVD video to a video track in PT 8?? Sergeman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 06-04-2009 11:08 AM
Video not moving to selected time code puppymachine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-27-2008 12:01 PM
I don't want reverse video on selected area... Mark_Knecht 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-03-2002 11:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com