Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2004, 01:34 AM
neeel neeel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 293
Default Quicktime + Media Player + Wavedriver issues

Hi all,

2 issues for me that I seek your expert opinions on.

1. I can't get quicktime to play back audio using the digidesign wavedriver. This is irrespective of whether I am playing an audio file in quicktime or a movie. Anyone else had these issues? Can this be solved with the MME Helper?

2. Audio plays back perfectly through Media Player, however, if I open a video file ie *.avi or *.mpg the audio that is played back is broken up like bad GSM mobile reception. Seems almost like a buffer issue but I am not sure how to lift or alter the buffer for the wavedriver.

Please help.........anyone?>?

neeel

versions are as follows
ptle6.4
wavedriver 6.1.1
asio driver 6.1.1
Media player 9
Quicktime 6.5.1
__________________
MBOX MINI PTLE 8.0.3
MAC OSX Snow Leopard
Mac Mini 1.5Ghz Intel
2 Gig RAM
*******************
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2004, 01:34 AM
neeel neeel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 293
Default Re: Quicktime + Media Player + Wavedriver issues

Oh also I use an MBOX
__________________
MBOX MINI PTLE 8.0.3
MAC OSX Snow Leopard
Mac Mini 1.5Ghz Intel
2 Gig RAM
*******************
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2004, 01:39 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Quicktime + Media Player + Wavedriver issues

You have to set the buffer in the app... in this case open QuickTime and in the prefs increase the buffer size to a large value.

In QT... Edit->Preferences->QuickTime Preferences.. select Sound Out and choose your MBox and click on Options and set the buffer size to a higher value.

If the MBox isn't listed, then quit QT and add it to the registry with MME Helper

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2004, 03:00 AM
neeel neeel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Solihull, UK
Posts: 293
Default Re: Quicktime + Media Player + Wavedriver issues

Thanks Rail,

I'll try increasing the buffer size in QT as the Mbox appears already as "waveout Digidesign MBox chan 1-2".

Any ideas about the media player sound issue?

neeel
__________________
MBOX MINI PTLE 8.0.3
MAC OSX Snow Leopard
Mac Mini 1.5Ghz Intel
2 Gig RAM
*******************
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't use windows media player hero 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-18-2009 01:44 AM
Quicktime/Win Media Player components not detected. Frankenstien 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-24-2009 08:12 PM
Media Player, CD Player in pro tools ACDCfreak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-20-2007 10:17 AM
media player fredsparky 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-13-2005 05:58 PM
media player Tuur 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-03-2004 06:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com