Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-28-2022, 11:09 AM

Default Pro Tools won't detect my mic or save my playback engine settings.

A few days ago I got the Pro Tools free trial. I'm not an experienced music producer and I don't have a long history of using DAWs so I'm pretty new to this. I tried recording some vocals to test the software out and when I played what I had just recorded it was very quite and wasn't playing through my earbuds. Ok? I had watched a beginners intro video before playing around with the software and figured I should go to the playback engine settings to change the i/o stuff after I couldn't set them in the audio tracks. The first problem I noticed right off the bat was that when I clicked the drop down for inputs my usb microphone wasn't there, it only displayed the built in mic on my computer as an option. It did however detect my earbuds as an output option. I changed the settings and tried to save them, it restarted the session but the playback engine settings wouldn't save. I tried this a couple other times but it just won't work. Does anyone have a solution to my problem(s)?
Old 04-28-2022, 12:15 PM

Default Re: Pro Tools won't save playback engine settings or even detect my microphone.

Hi Welcome to DUC.

I hope a mod can delete the duplicate post to avoid folks replying to both threads. [edit: looks like they already merged both posts here]

You don't give any useful info about your setup. Mac? Windows? Computer details? Operating system version? Audio Interface - or in this case exact make/model USB mic. Start by reading "help us help you" up the top of each DUC web page for an idea of the type of info normally expected.

What exactly version of Pro Tools?