Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #301  
Old 04-20-2023, 07:49 PM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,713
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
2.2.1 is up

Hopefully fixed the date sorting issue on other systems, which ended up being quite complicated.

Also, you can now scan AU/VST/VST3 plugins. The type is displayed (and saved with Excel export).

Cheers,
Pete
Thanks Pete!!!

Gregory Ives
__________________
Composer/Sound Designer/Protools 2023.3 Ultimate, Avid MTRX. DADMAN MOM Monitoring,Cisco SG350-10MP EthernetHUB, KLANG:quelle 4 Channel Dante™Network Headphone Amp, DVS,MADI, Mac Studio Ultra, 128 RAM/4TB SSD, Monterey12.6.5, Digital Perf11.2.1, Logic Pro X 10.7.7 DOLBY ATMOS Facility/MPSE Motion Picture Sound Editors Avid Certified Professional ProTools/Dolby ATMOS
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 04-20-2023, 11:21 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,333
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
Nicely done. Sorting great.
And the "show website" is a nice little trick (was this there before and I didn't notice?)
Good, glad it's ordering things correctly now!

The Show Website is a relatively recent addition. It doesn't necessarily get every manufacturer correct. Any errors... report them to me and I'll add them to the list.

Cheers,
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 04-20-2023, 11:24 PM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,333
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by gthm View Post
Nice!

Thanks Pete!

Would it be possible to also add the size of each plugin on the list and the total size of each plugin format on our drives at the bottom?

Sorry if this has been asked before!
Hmmmm, no this hasn't been asked for and is a good idea. Don't need it personally but I can obviously see the use for it. I'll add it to the list.

Cheers,
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 04-21-2023, 04:57 PM
gthm's Avatar
gthm gthm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NJ/NY
Posts: 205
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Gates View Post
Hmmmm, no this hasn't been asked for and is a good idea. Don't need it personally but I can obviously see the use for it. I'll add it to the list.

Cheers,
Pete
That is great news

Thanks again man

Nicholas_
__________________
Pro Tools 2023.3
macOS 13.3.1
iMac (24-inch, M1, 2021)
(16GB RAM, 1TB SSD internal)
Samsung T7 x a few
Samsung 980 Pro x 2 (in Acasis TB/USB 4 enclosures)
Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 04-22-2023, 11:19 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 4,214
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

The update now properly sorts plugins by date. Thx Pete!

One suggestion: when hitting the backup pref button, I was expecting some sort of notification to tell me that the backup had been performed successfully. Instead, the button went grey for a few seconds then came back to its default state. I assumed the backup was made but had to check the folder to confirm. The simplest of confirmation notifications for this step would be a plus.
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 04-23-2023, 06:43 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,333
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
One suggestion: when hitting the backup pref button, I was expecting some sort of notification to tell me that the backup had been performed successfully. Instead, the button went grey for a few seconds then came back to its default state. I assumed the backup was made but had to check the folder to confirm. The simplest of confirmation notifications for this step would be a plus.
Hey Eric,
Yeah, good point. I'll have a look at that.

Cheers,
Pete
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 04-24-2023, 10:01 AM
chompers2022 chompers2022 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: philly
Posts: 27
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Thanks Pete. love the program.
It does however take many clicks now to do what used to take only one. The old version had a list of check boxes that determined what was going being trashed. If you deselected "PT User pref" it stayed off, making a trashing quick and simple (open the program and click trash).
As it is now, you need to click the 12 or so different options to trash everything BUT the user preferences. (Which i have found never creating any issues with the software? This seems more complicated than the earlier versions.
The good news is every time i complain on here about a feature , I send you more donations.
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 04-24-2023, 10:12 AM
Pete Gates Pete Gates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,333
Default Re: New PT Prefs helper

Quote:
Originally Posted by chompers2022 View Post
Thanks Pete. love the program.
It does however take many clicks now to do what used to take only one. The old version had a list of check boxes that determined what was going being trashed. If you deselected "PT User pref" it stayed off, making a trashing quick and simple (open the program and click trash).
As it is now, you need to click the 12 or so different options to trash everything BUT the user preferences. (Which i have found never creating any issues with the software? This seems more complicated than the earlier versions.
The good news is every time i complain on here about a feature , I send you more donations.
Don't worry, I have taken this on board, the next release will have something.

Cheers,
Pete
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated: ProTools Prefs & Database Helper JC925602 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-25-2009 05:35 PM
updated: ProTools Prefs & Database Helper JC925602 Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 06-24-2009 12:48 PM
ProTools Prefs & Database Helper/le8 and 10.5.5 b mcgibney 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-23-2009 12:00 PM
ProTools Prefs & Database Helper meric 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-16-2007 11:50 PM
No Sound-help!! After deleting Digisetup, PT prefs and DAE prefs bigthinka9 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-24-2002 07:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com