Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2015, 10:10 AM
LarrySmileyEL LarrySmileyEL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Posts: 8
Default Pro Tools 10.3.6 won't launch, unsupported buffer size error with ProFire2626

3.1GH i5 Quad Core
16GB DDRAM
300GB 10K-RPM system drive
2TB 7.2k Audio drive
ASUS MoBo
ProFire 2626
Windows 7 Pro
Pro Tools 10.3.6
This just started. Now this on top of PT failing to even bounce to disc...
After getting this error message several times:

"Your audio device is configured with an unsupported audio buffer size. Please select one of the following supported buffer sizes in device control panel: 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, or 2048."
Here's a screen shot...

I changed the buffer size to every available buffer size to no avail. I reinstalled the ProFire, then updated the driver for the ProFire. No good. Then I uninstalled both Pro Tools 10 and 11 and reinstalled PT 10 after deleting their registry entries. Still no good. I do not know what to do now...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2015, 11:33 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 37,875
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.6 won't launch, unsupported buffer size error with ProFire2626

We see no screen shot. I would update to 10.3.8, which has been one of the better versions of 10. Also, go into Windows Control Panel>Sound Properties and set Windows to NOT use the 2626 as the default sound card. This will leave the 2626 for PT only and may avoid a hardware conflict
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2015, 11:46 AM
LarrySmileyEL LarrySmileyEL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.6 won't launch, unsupported buffer size error with ProFire2626

Thanks for the reply, Dave. The screen shot is actually a link in the post. I will try what you suggested and report back...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2015, 12:04 PM
LarrySmileyEL LarrySmileyEL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.6 won't launch, unsupported buffer size error with ProFire2626

OK. I did what you advised but it still gave the same error. I went as far as to disable all of the sound cards on the system except for the on-board system and it still gave me the same error. I forgot to include that there's a BlackMagic Design DeckLink Studio 2 sound/video card on the system... I disabled all of them.
The problem actually began on 10.3.8. I uninstalled it and put 10.3.6 back on...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2015, 09:09 PM
LarrySmileyEL LarrySmileyEL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.6 won't launch, unsupported buffer size error with ProFire2626

I am SOOOOOO close to just deleting Pro Tools, I swear to GOD! All of my sessions are trapped and I just do not know what to do with this.
I just stayed up all night and then called in to work for the day off to do a complete Windows re-installation. Redid everything. And PT 10 is giving me the same error, while PT 11 kinda works. I don't even WANT to use PT11...

Can anyone tell me what this issue is?
It's not the ProFire because everything else works fine with it and I haven't even taken it past the default settings yet, I just installed it. Sonar X3 works fine. Sony Vegas 13 works fine. Adobe CS6 works fine with it...
I wiped the drive and re-installed Windows 7 Pro. Activated and updated it. Mobo drivers and utilities, installed my file utilities and then installed Pro Tools. Same error.
I have not migrated to 11 because my mixes sound too different with 11 and I'm trying to wrap up these current projects so that I can make the jump...
HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELP !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2015, 09:40 PM
LarrySmileyEL LarrySmileyEL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.6 won't launch, unsupported buffer size error with ProFire2626

OK. Forgot to mention that there is also a Quattro FX 3800 on the system also. Could there be a driver conflict? It may have updated and installed an unsupported driver. What do you guys think?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2015, 02:11 AM
soybalm soybalm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 617
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.6 won't launch, unsupported buffer size error with ProFire2626

you have to set the buffer to one of these numbers on the Profire. 32,64,128,256,512,1024


I hate the drivers for all the focusrite stuff. PITA
__________________
Dave Cournoyer-guitarist-project studio
Mac Mini late 2012, i7, Sierra
16GB PT10.3.10HD PT12.5.2
Apogee Mini-Me firewire.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-10-2015, 12:55 AM
LarrySmileyEL LarrySmileyEL is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Fort Worth, Texas USA
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 10.3.6 won't launch, unsupported buffer size error with ProFire2626

It's 2:48am and I FINALLY got PT10 back open. Thank you guys for helping me. Just to let you know... I'm bald now. What hair that I didn't pull out fell out due to stress. I was like beating on the "N" key with a ball-peen hammer... Finally did what you said it'd do and it loaded right on up. Now I have to get all my production software reinstalled... I did two clean reinstallations of Windows... I will probably sleep all day. I haven't had any for almost 46 hours... Thank you so much. I was dreading all those calls
"Uhm... the mix we just completed last week... Yeah. That one. Well, it's gone now and we have to start over..."

Thanks again. You have no idea...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unsupported audio buffer size in device control panel TheVRsNo$ Windows 27 12-09-2019 06:28 AM
pro tools 11 buffer size error dhyowi Pro Tools 11 1 11-06-2014 04:23 PM
FYI: PT 10.3.3 complains about unsupported buffer size 2048 Niilo Nuori Windows 0 02-22-2013 03:43 PM
ProTools won't launch; unsupported buffer size DarylG Windows 3 02-23-2011 08:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com