Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2004, 01:25 PM
eldangeroso eldangeroso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 26
Default Basic mBox set-up help request

I'm trying to help someone set up their mBox rig and I've run into some problems.

Please help with some obvious (though not to me) questions:


1) How does one get audio playback from your mac directly (without hooking your computer speakers up to the headphone out on the front of the mBox)? Is there a setting that needs adjustment on the mac?

2) When plugging an sm57 into the 1st input, the only way to get signal was to move the selector on the front to "line" rather than "mic." Can someone explain this to me?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2004, 02:00 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Basic mBox set-up help request

1) ProTools audio will only come out the Mbox, not through the Mac.
2) If you've plugged the mic into one of the XLR inputs, the selector goes in the 'mic' position. If you've plugged into the center of the XLR combo jack with a 1/4" plug, you'd use the 'line' setting. A microphone should go into the XLR input, which goes to the mic preamp.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2004, 02:37 PM
eldangeroso eldangeroso is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 26
Default Re: Basic mBox set-up help request

Thank you, fellow Tele player.

ProTools audio will only come out the Mbox, not through the Mac

I thought maybe that was the case, thanks for the confirmation.

If you've plugged the mic into one of the XLR inputs, the selector goes in the 'mic' position. If you've plugged into the center of the XLR combo jack with a 1/4" plug, you'd use the 'line' setting. A microphone should go into the XLR input, which goes to the mic preamp.

Eureka! It was the fact that his mic cable was xlr on the mic end and 1/4 inch on the mBox end.

Still, I don't think I understand why that is...since both of the inputs are going through the same preamp. And since it is a dynamic mic...well...I'm confused on why. I figure "line" means that it's coming in at a higher level than "mic" - but why would there be different levels just because one is xlr and one is 1/4 inch?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Request for basic help cc1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-13-2013 03:48 AM
Basic Mbox help for dummies!! tcool1 Tips & Tricks 21 12-21-2007 07:51 PM
Basic question - Amp->Mbox kirs Tips & Tricks 2 12-06-2004 07:31 PM
Basic Mbox Recording hereitgoes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-11-2004 09:40 AM
Some basic Mbox questions didger 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-17-2003 10:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com