Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-03-2008, 09:44 AM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default ProTools 8 - asio/wave driver fixed?

Hi - does anyone know if Digi fixed the asio / wave driver issues in ProTools 8? That would be a reason to upgrade for me.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2008, 12:52 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: ProTools 8 - asio/wave driver fixed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Lang View Post
Hi - does anyone know if Digi fixed the asio / wave driver issues in ProTools 8? That would be a reason to upgrade for me.
I'm not speaking for Digi but I believe somewhere it was mentioned by DTS that new drivers were due out in early 2009 although I can't tell you where I read that.

It sounds like they want to ship PT 8.0 before the end of the year and it seems like most users would like it tomorrow.

Just a guess (and a wild one at that) but if I had to guess I would say that they will ship 8.0 and the updated drivers will probably come with the inevitable cs updates. Hopefully I'm wrong.

The ASIO /Wave driver issue has not effected me and I would rather they squash as many bugs in 8.0 as they can B4 it ships. I suspect I'm not alone there. I also suspect its not a big issue for most users but I could be wrong there.

What DTS has been saying about allocating program resources probably makes a little more sense since they dropped the bomb thats 8.0 at AES.

It seems the elves have been quite busy.

Thats just a guess though.

I'm fairly sure spring was given as a ETA for the wave driver.

Probably not what you wanted to hear though....

How would YOU allocate your resources in the situation?
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2008, 04:03 PM
Dave Lang Dave Lang is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada
Posts: 621
Default Re: ProTools 8 - asio/wave driver fixed?

I would do what I had to do to meet the market challenges presented by increased competition and more powerful native daw products.

For me, that would include making my high end product match the capability of a $30 sound card.



Thanks for the info - don't take my response as an insult - just having fun here....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASIO/Wave Driver help scottgreiner Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 08-28-2010 10:38 PM
PLEASE tell me Digi has fixed the Wave Driver!!!!! Tunekicker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 03-25-2007 12:35 AM
asio or wave driver? majakic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-20-2003 11:57 AM
ASIO or Wave Driver Jerry K. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 06-09-2003 07:15 AM
Asio and Wave Driver git1song 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-22-2002 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com