Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-17-2021, 02:18 PM
jonathan jetter jonathan jetter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 228
Default Tech Support doesn't find my System ID

Hi everyone- I have Pro Tools Ultimate, perpetual license w/ a current support plan.

Tried to call tech support, went to enter my System ID, they are not able to find it, and so there's no way to get through to a person.

Entered it multiple times, I am 100% certain the System ID number is correct.

Any ideas how to solve? Thanks in advance,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-17-2021, 10:57 PM
matchmix matchmix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Regina Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: Tech Support doesn't find my System ID

click on the expired tab - it may be expired
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-18-2021, 08:35 AM
GroovnD313 GroovnD313 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 30
Default Re: Tech Support doesn't find my System ID

Same problem here. With an active support plan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-18-2021, 03:26 PM
Tweakhead Tweakhead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: Tech Support doesn't find my System ID

same here. a shambles of an operation.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-18-2021, 11:01 PM
matchmix matchmix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Regina Canada
Posts: 16
Default Re: Tech Support doesn't find my System ID

You can look on your ilok licenses manager and check the Publisher ID that is same thing as your system ID
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2021, 08:48 AM
jonathan jetter jonathan jetter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 228
Default Re: Tech Support doesn't find my System ID

Quote:
Originally Posted by matchmix View Post
You can look on your ilok licenses manager and check the Publisher ID that is same thing as your system ID
Quote:
Originally Posted by matchmix View Post
click on the expired tab - it may be expired
I am 100% sure my plan is active, and 100% sure my System ID is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2021, 10:10 AM
jonathan jetter jonathan jetter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 228
Default Support Plan active + current, System ID not found

Originally posted this in the Pro Tools 2021 forum, but realizing it might be more appropriate here (Mods, feel free to delete the other post).

Hi everyone- I have Pro Tools Ultimate, perpetual license w/ a current support plan.

Tried to call tech support, went to enter my System ID, they are not able to find it, and so there's no way to get through to a person.

Entered it multiple times, I am 100% certain the System ID number is correct. and 100% certain the support plan is current.

Any ideas how to solve? Thanks in advance,
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-21-2021, 12:20 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Tech Support doesn't find my System ID

According to DigiTechSupt,

Pro Tools Software Update Plans and Subscriptions only include online (webcase) support. Please refer to https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-support-plans for this info.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.3.1 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2021, 12:47 PM
Big Mother Big Mother is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 49
Default Re: Tech Support doesn't find my System ID

https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-support-plans

So the $200.00 (Vanilla) Annual Support Plan gets you 24 to 48 hr email support and updates, no call support?
Wow, was that something that changed and I didnt read about? Was it this way for the last few years?
__________________
PT 2020.3 / Mac Mini (Late 2012) 2.3ghz Quad Core i7 16gb SSD / OS X 10.15.7 / UA Apollo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2021, 04:16 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Tech Support doesn't find my System ID

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Mother View Post
https://www.avid.com/learn-and-suppo...-support-plans

So the $200.00 (Vanilla) Annual Support Plan gets you 24 to 48 hr email support and updates, no call support?
Wow, was that something that changed and I didnt read about? Was it this way for the last few years?
Yeah. I've never used the support so I was a little surprise a few months ago when I read it was just web-based (not live call). There are higher cost plans for phone support available. I initially only got the $99 one-year product upgrade option and passed on the additional $99 support option. About two years ago they made it so that you had to get them together for $199. About that time they also imposed a penalty to reinstate if you let your perpetual license lapse. Now there is a push to get people over to the subscription model. Some call this the "cost of doing business" with Avid. Others call this a form of extortion. You can decide with your wallet. There are many other DAW solutions out there and they are all getting better. If you like to use Protools and are willing to put up with the shenanigans, it is what it is.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacBookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 11.3.1 running Protools 2021.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tech support for PT/First? Elbergo Pro Tools | First Discussion 0 11-08-2016 07:38 AM
New tech support tools - Tech Support Folder DigiTechSupt Technical Alerts 0 08-07-2007 08:13 AM
Tech Support...Don't you find it odd . . . . .? studiojimi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 03-02-2007 02:54 PM
Any tech heads find a way to power 001card on G5? KingFish 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-25-2004 11:34 AM
Tech inquiry - 5.1.1 can't find 5.1 E. D. Cooper 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 07-02-2001 08:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com