Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 06-19-2010, 01:23 PM

Default Workflow: Creating Film score music (template/setup/workflow)

Hi,

This is not really a problem but I'd love to get some tips on how to organize and get a good template for creating and recording film score-like music.
Since I’m pretty new to Pro Tools I’ve begun by using the most basic functions, such as groups, colortracks, different busses etc.

Although I feel that I need some guidance on how to optimize my workflow so that I can fully concentrate on creating the music instead of having to click around the program to find functions.

So if any of you out there is an experienced Pro Tools user doing this kind of symphonic orchestral music I’d love to get some tips on how to create the ultimate orchestral template.

Though most of Pro Tools work absolutely fabulous I’ve run into some questions which I can’t seem to find good answers to…

1. In some parts I use allot of different string sounds at the same time like cellos, violins, pizzicato, basses etc. On many of those occasions I like putting down 2 or more layers of the same instrument which forces me to create several tracks for the same instrument (for example Violins low/rhythm, Violins high/melody). Coming from CW SONAR I was pretty used to being able to record several pararell audio-takes on the same track. Is there any way to do this in Pro Tools?

2. Right now I use different colors and groups for the different instruments (for example Piano, Strings, Brass, Choirs, Bells etc.) Is there any other clever way to arrange these? (like folders)