Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2003, 08:47 AM
r2ur0 r2ur0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 15
Default Digi 002 and Electro-voice RE20 question

I plugged an EV RE20 into my 002 to record some dialogue stuff and I had to really crank the gain(about 90%) to get a good hot signal.I understand that these mics need alot of gain .But upon listening to the playback there was an awful lot of noise.I mean hiss(ooo that analogue sound),I was told by a buddy that knows about such things that the hiss was not from the mic (which is what I assumed)but that it was the mic pre being pushed to the outer reaches of its perameters.Anybody know anything?Is the re20 noisy?Does cranking up the gain knob add hiss?I dunno.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2003, 09:29 AM
badperson badperson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,025
Default Re: Digi 002 and Electro-voice RE20 question

this response is probably a little OT, but I have a similar ""problem" with an akg c100s. I use quotes because I don't know if something's wrong with the mic, or if that's just the way it's designed.

Maybe you could try it in a few applications, recording different instruments and post the results.

I'm interested to hear what you find, because I'd like to have one of those mics at some point.

bp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2003, 09:33 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: Digi 002 and Electro-voice RE20 question

While the RE-20 isn't the hottest mic on the planet, with a decent signa you shouldn't have any problems. checl cabling, and check the mic on a known good chain. I suspect unless your input source was very quiet the problem is elsewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2003, 09:36 AM
r2ur0 r2ur0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 15
Default Re: Digi 002 and Electro-voice RE20 question

I have tried it with recording bass through an amp ( the gain was around 60%) and it was very nice ,it sounded like it had a built-in, very discrete compressor.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2003, 09:42 AM
r2ur0 r2ur0 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 15
Default Re: Digi 002 and Electro-voice RE20 question

I had the person speaking about 6in. away from the mic ,I tried closer but I got pops ,I tried a pop screen but it seemed to take some life out of the voice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EV RE20 Refub. Straatocastoer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-07-2004 11:29 AM
anyone use an re20? badperson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-06-2003 12:26 AM
RE20 kick drum technique cuttooth 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-28-2003 09:48 AM
Digi CS, HD voice allocation vs DSP question? Rich Breen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 09-11-2002 08:42 AM
Anybody here ever used a EV RE20? Mike Teezie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-19-2002 12:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com