Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2002, 11:31 AM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,524
Default Anyone using a Ramsa DA7?

I am considering the purchase of a digital mixer, the DA7 has a good price versus feature list.
Is anyone using this mixer that would be willing to post your expierences?

I would be using the DA7 with the 001 and Beige G3MT500.

Thanx!!

sdf
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2002, 02:42 PM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Anyone using a Ramsa DA7?

[img]images/icons/frown.gif[/img]
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2002, 05:21 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Anyone using a Ramsa DA7?

I use one on a TDM system and love it, but can't help you out with how it would work with an 001.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2002, 09:06 PM
E. D. Cooper E. D. Cooper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 287
Default Re: Anyone using a Ramsa DA7?

I have one. It's usually hooked to an MX-2424. However, I have hooked it to the Digi001 (via S/PDIF) for use of the DA7's converters while trackiing.

You should the best use with a lightpipe connection. On mixdown to an outside destination, you can use the DA7's compressors and EQ to save your resources on the Mac. However, the limitatons of the Digi001 confine you to eight digital channels.

BTW- With the DA7's version 2.01 or above software, the DA7 will emulate a Mackie HUI. You can, therefore, use it as an eight fader control surface for PT LE's automation.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2002, 03:49 AM
s.d. finley s.d. finley is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX. USA
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: Anyone using a Ramsa DA7?

Thanks for the replies!
I had heard about the Hui mode, and thought it would be a good addition to the home studio.
How does the Dynamics and eq section sound? Pretty usable? I am thinking of using the DA7 for a front end for tracking drums.

Thanks guys!

sdf
__________________
sdf

www.sugarhillstudios713.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2002, 11:04 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Anyone using a Ramsa DA7?

The EQ and Dynamics are definitely usable - there's obviously better analog stuff out there, but I make use of both those features on a regular basis and can't complain. It's a great front end for drum tracking, the pre's are relatively transparent if not a little bit on the thiin side. I use seperate pre's for my snare and OH's for extra warmth, but you'll be fine if the Ramsa is all you have.

-Slim
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2002, 11:59 AM
Ear Witness Records Ear Witness Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 18
Default Re: Anyone using a Ramsa DA7?

I've got one as well just picked it up. Havn't tried to use it as a controler yet for PTLE but plan to try. I have used it to track to my DA-88's and its pretty clean. also the gates are kind of weak but i used the compressors to tape and sound at least as nice as my DBX 160'As you could email me and let me know how it goes sounds like we've got the same stuff. (001 and da7)
sam
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ramsa DA7 any good? Lion Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 08-08-2011 10:54 AM
Ramsa DA7 with Digi 001 and PT6.4 - HUI?? JazzyJ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-07-2010 11:03 AM
Ramsa mixers astrorock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-10-2006 06:46 PM
HELP - Pro Tools LE and Ramsa DA7 dmcvey 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-25-2003 09:58 AM
RAMSA DA7 and 001 bryanbassett Tips & Tricks 3 05-19-2002 04:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com