Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2021

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-24-2021, 12:20 PM
Barranca Barranca is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Camarillo
Posts: 34
Default Re: 32bit or 24bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_g View Post
A bit of levity - You will spend hundreds of hours on a mix, make pain staking decisions of different compressors, and effects and eq. Loads of time spent deciding 24bit, 32bit, 44k, 48 etc...

Send the song to your friends and post it on a public cloud offering and 99.9% of listeners will play it through crappy speakers on their mobile device, or earbuds.

Long gone are the days where someone enters a dedicated music library in their house, turns on their NAD receiver connected to the most expensive speakers, takes a snifter of brandy and sits back and enjoys a record from cover to cover.

As others have said; 24bit/ 44k, and make music and enjoy it. Remember anyone over 40 years old and beyond will not hear anything beyond 8k anyway. And the under 40's will just play stuff on their mobile devices.

uuuuuhhhhhhhh Huu Huu....... I can hear this.....soooo cooolllll yeah ! Yeah !

https://youtu.be/BjWf0keANT8

10khz sine wave , 2000 cycles more than 8khz ,

I can hear it on my cellphone speakers, iPad speakers, and its freakin louder than heck,

disclaimer , turn your volume down, watch out

now I will go take my Geritol & nap as I can’t mix anymore today....lmao.....
__________________
iMac OSX 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2020.3
Avid Control 20.6.1
Fire HD 10 usb-c 2019
iPad 6th Gen ios 12.4.1
2-S1's
Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-24-2021, 12:30 PM
paul_g's Avatar
paul_g paul_g is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 712
Default Re: 32bit or 24bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barranca View Post
uuuuuhhhhhhhh Huu Huu....... I can hear this.....soooo cooolllll yeah ! Yeah !

https://youtu.be/BjWf0keANT8

10khz sine wave , 2000 cycles more than 8khz ,

I can hear it on my cellphone speakers, iPad speakers, and its freakin louder than heck,

disclaimer , turn your volume down, watch out

now I will go take my Geritol & nap as I can’t mix anymore today....lmao.....
Geritol... that's old school... nothing but Cyclobenzaprine these days! :)
__________________
5K Retina 27" (2020) iMac OS 11.5.2 Big Sur
3.3 GHz 6-Core intel Core i5
AMD Radeon Pro 5300 4 GB
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR 4
Internal 2TiB SSD
Pro Tools 2021.3.1
EuCon 2020.11.10
UA Luna 1.1.8
UAD 9.13.1
UA Apollo Twin X
Avid S1 / Fire10
HX Edit 3.10
PreSonus DigiMax FS 8-input ADAT
Dynaudio Monitors
PreSonus Temblor 10 Sub
Songs from Outta The Blue
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-24-2021, 02:38 PM
DontLetMeDrown DontLetMeDrown is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 295
Default Re: 32bit or 24bit

lol I'm 45 and can definitely hear a 17K LPF Been using 32 bit float lately and there has been no discernable hit to cpu or storage.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-24-2021, 09:42 PM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 165
Default Re: 32bit or 24bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_g View Post
A bit of levity - You will spend hundreds of hours on a mix, make pain staking decisions of different compressors, and effects and eq. Loads of time spent deciding 24bit, 32bit, 44k, 48 etc...

Send the song to your friends and post it on a public cloud offering and 99.9% of listeners will play it through crappy speakers on their mobile device, or earbuds.

Long gone are the days where someone enters a dedicated music library in their house, turns on their NAD receiver connected to the most expensive speakers, takes a snifter of brandy and sits back and enjoys a record from cover to cover.

As others have said; 24bit/ 44k, and make music and enjoy it. Remember anyone over 40 years old and beyond will not hear anything beyond 8k anyway. And the under 40's will just play stuff on their mobile devices.
I agree completely with the sentiments of your post, even if it's a bit hyperbolic. I'd offer:

-24-fixed vs 32-float is more of a safety net/workflow thing that will only affect the "quality" of the end product in certain cases. Mostly useful if you're working with people who have no idea what 0dBFS means (and don't need to know.) *

-If you really want to get into the weeds, there are meaningful tonal differences between 44.1k and 48k.
a) The anti-aliasing filter used for 48k can be shallower than the usually very steep filter used for 44.1k. 44.1 can sound more "dense", 48k can sound more "open."
b) Whether by design or by accident, plugins can sound different at different sample rates. Even more important if you're working with virtual instruments etc.

When starting a (music) project, if there is no technical reason to choose either, I make it an artistic decision: 44.1k for density or 48k for openness; then I commit and don't think twice about it until the next project. :)

It's a very small, almost meaningless difference in the big picture but: death by 1000 cuts. 2x and 4x sample rates will sound different for the same reasons but nothing that I work on really warrants that and I generally need the CPU headroom and workflow of 1x rates.

ymmv etc...


* of course the catch-22: the people that would benefit the most from working completely in 32-bit float are the same people who have no idea what it means and will just go with defaults or something random anyway.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" (2018) / macOS 11.5.1 / PTU 2021.7
MacMini M1 (2020) / macOS 11.5.1 / PTU 2021.3.1 / MOTU 112D
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-26-2021, 11:44 PM
noobstudioguy noobstudioguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 22
Default Re: 32bit or 24bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by noobstudioguy View Post
I can turn down a clipped vocal even if it was clipped during tracking, that is news to me. What if my converter is 24bit? Then 32bit isn't an option for me right?
Anyone?
__________________
Apollo Twin X Thunderbolt, Ryzen 9 3950X, Gigabyte B550 Vision D MB, Seagate FireCuda 520 1TB M.2-2280 NVME SSD, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Video Card, Slate Digital ML-1, Kaotica Eyeball, Nektar Impact LX88, PreSonus HP4, Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro 250 OHM, KRK Systems ROKIT 6,
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-27-2021, 12:58 AM
unkJE's Avatar
unkJE unkJE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,415
Default Re: 32bit or 24bit

In Pro Tools start-up Dashboard, change a new Session’s Bit Depth to 32-bit float and import some distorted audio to test fixing it with Clip Gain …
__________________
Pro Tools 2021.7 & 12.5.1 HD - Studio One 5.4 Pro - Win10 64 Pro – Lenovo W520 ThinkPads (Type 4276-37U) & 433830U Docks – SSDs Samsung 860 Evo & 2 T5s - Mbox 3 Pro - Axiom Pro 49 - AIR Mini 32
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-27-2021, 01:55 AM
Farhoof's Avatar
Farhoof Farhoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: EU
Posts: 334
Default Re: 32bit or 24bit

AD converters are generally not floating point, but you can just try it.

Bear in mind the Protools floating point audio engine has been bugged for a while now and only allows about 20dB over zero. Anything over get's muted (not even clipped, but muted).

Generally speaking, 32bit is for people that don't know how to properly gain stage a session or recording. Fix the issue at the source
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-27-2021, 11:54 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,445
Default Re: 32bit or 24bit

The only time thirty-two float helps with headroom is when the audio has been calculated. Converters will still clip because they have analog stages and usually fixed-point math.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-27-2021, 12:18 PM
dominicperry dominicperry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: UK
Posts: 179
Default Re: 32bit or 24bit

Sound Devices 32 bit is a twin set of A/D convertors extending dynamic range beyond what a single set would manage - this is useful in the world of location sound where the twinkly sounds of nature are interrupted by an explosion. You don't generally need it for music, because not even live music has that dynamic range, and once you've compressed the daylights out of it for playback, it's irrelevant anyway.

Taking 24bit files from 24bit convertors and running them in a 32-bit float DAW format gives you extra room to mix - and in the case of Studio One, if you don't choose 32bit as your song bit depth, the mixer runs out of headroom at 24 bit. (Or at least it used to on earlier versions of S1).
A zillion channels of 24bit files all pushed hard need a mix engine with headroom. Or you can turn all the channels down a bit.

I have no idea why the Carbon has 32bit A/D but for studio recording, it's pretty unlikely to be of any value whatsoever.

Dominic
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing 24bit/48k into 32bit/48k session anackman Pro Tools 11 6 12-15-2014 03:56 PM
Recording: 24bit vs. 32bit float WombatStudio.Org Tips & Tricks 55 10-05-2014 03:41 PM
24Bit dithering in a 32Bit session. Any problems known? Franco1967 macOS 4 12-22-2011 12:50 AM
batch conversion 32bit to 24bit siga 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 10-23-2007 04:51 PM
32bit.wav to 24bit sdII neuman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-08-2000 10:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com