Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2022, 09:38 AM
realizment realizment is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: LA
Posts: 137
Default So my ilok cloud seems to work simultaneously

Hey guys I was under the impression that you could use PT on up to 3 computers, but this was actually referring to PT First I guess which would of been perfect for my needs here but seems it’s now discontinued and not supporting M1.

I have a subscription to PT Studio. I have a client who barely knows how to hit record and I was going to install pro tools first for him. Instead I installed PT studio; under the impression you can run on 3 machines, but then I was expecting it to close one of us out, but instead I’d you have pro tools open , and one opens it it just says activate cloud session but it continues to work fine on the other machine. Is this a glitch or something? And how does one get a second license so works simultaneous I read another thread having issues with 2 licenses on same account.

Kinda sad pro tools first is gone because any subscription is complete overkill for my client right this second .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2022, 11:14 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,701
Default Re: So my ilok cloud seems to work simultaneously

Quote:
Originally Posted by realizment View Post
Kinda sad pro tools first is gone because any subscription is complete overkill for my client right this second .
Kinda Sad? The bug ridden, unstable, unreliable crippled software that would eat many users cloud projects? And was so crippled and unreliable in was never going to be an on-ramp to future Pro Tools users. Even if you managed to get it to ever work for some of your clients why would you risk exposing them to all the potential problems? And since many of those problems apply to Pro Tools cloud collaboration in general I sure would only be working with others using Pro Tools sessions (maybe copying session files over cloud storage).

If your clients cannot afford a $9.99/month Pro Tools Artist subscription you need to find them a different DAW.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2022, 01:13 PM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,296
Default Re: So my ilok cloud seems to work simultaneously

What he said^^^ If your client can't spend $9.99/month, then have them get Cakewalk by Bandcamp(free) and teach them how to export audio files and zip them for upload to you via dropbox, wetransfer.com or any other file sharing service. I get files from several clients that don't work in Pro Tools, so its not that big of a deal if its thought thru. Here's a quick example:
Someone wants to send me files for a song to mix(and they don't use Pro Tools). I make sure they make all files the same length with the same starting time. I make sure they tell me a few things:
1-sample rate and bit depth used(I recommend 24 bit/48K if they ask)
2-tempo in BPM(if the recording was done to a click)
3-include their click track if it was done with a metronome(instead of the DAW click)
4-if they use any virtual instruments, either print/render to audio(preferred) or send the midi file with detailed info on the desired sound(with some clients, I take the printed VI's AND the midi file, in case I think I can improve on something).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2022, 02:49 PM
realizment realizment is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: LA
Posts: 137
Default Re: So my ilok cloud seems to work simultaneously

Ah I didn’t know first had such issues ! I never touched it. But yea 9.99 a month I actually didn’t really consider that . But why is my PT subscription currently working for us both in different locations?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2022, 03:04 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,701
Default Re: So my ilok cloud seems to work simultaneously

Quote:
Originally Posted by realizment View Post
Ah I didn’t know first had such issues ! I never touched it. But yea 9.99 a month I actually didn’t really consider that . But why is my PT subscription currently working for us both in different locations?
First was a huge mess, and all that evidence has been deleted when the First forums were removed from DUC... but that was probably the right move to help kill First off properly. But again, a warning, you can likely make Pro Tools Artist/Studio a mess as well if you try to use Cloud Collaboration Projects.

No idea what/why stuff is happening with your licensing, but one thing to check carefully is whether what you think is happening really is (you may have already, which is great, but we can't guess). You might be using different accounts without realizing it or different licenses, or your clients might be confused and really running First. You could confirm what exactly is starting up on remote computers (e.g. look at Pro Tools log file(s) and what *exactly* ILM shows on each computer). Folks might even have signed up for a one month trial.. inexperienced users start clicking on an "Activate" button and who knows what they do.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2022, 07:46 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 16,701
Default Re: So my ilok cloud seems to work simultaneously

And unless I seem to harsh on Avid and First etc. I think what they have now done with Pro Tools Artist is just so much better and quite nice. Folks can learn to use Pro Tools in a version that supports third party plugins and VIs and has normal session compatibility (with some track number restrictions etc.). And for somebody like you (or what I'm assuming you do) working with folks new to DAWs etc. it's actually a much better place for your clients and for you. And for $9.99 per month.. and a months free trial for each student, ... and they can run in iLok cloud to avoid buying a physical iLok (although I still think a physical iLok is more reliable, the cloud licensing lets them get started) ... and the ability to suspend the subscription any month all is pretty good. I'd just set up sharing/collaboration with clients/students using session files not cloud projects. And if you need live collaboration look at options from Zoom video calls to others.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New iLok License Manager Released - Now Supports iLok Cloud Managed Mode unkJE Licensing & Accounts 0 10-10-2019 04:07 PM
Unable to move ilok licenses from cloud to ilok. Charu1 Pro Tools 2018 14 03-01-2019 08:05 AM
Does iLok Cloud work offline? strangeLoop Licensing & Accounts 2 03-14-2018 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com