Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2022, 02:05 AM
Kerochan Kerochan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: London UK
Posts: 208
Default M1 MacMini or High Spec Intel Mac Mini?

What would be best for Pro Tools, an M1 mac Mini with 16gb RAM or Intel Mac Mini with 64gb RAM?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2022, 07:50 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: M1 MacMini or High Spec Intel Mac Mini?

In my opinion, I would go with Apple silicon. All new Macs going forward are using the new chips, there are already OS features that only work on Apple Silicon and support for Intel will slowly go away.

As for which is best for you? What is your typical session like? The extra memory will help you out if you are a heavy sample based VI user, but even at that, how stressed is your current system? If your details are correct, you currently have a system with 64GB of RAM. So, if you look at your usage, and you are below 1/4 of the memory, then 16 would work just fine for your needs.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2022, 01:02 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: M1 MacMini or High Spec Intel Mac Mini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kerochan View Post
What would be best for Pro Tools, an M1 mac Mini with 16gb RAM or Intel Mac Mini with 64gb RAM?
There's two maxims in life: you can never be too rich and you can never have too much ram. If you use a lot of samples then go with the Intel Mac and 64 GB ram.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2022, 09:05 AM
Dale-c Dale-c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Anderson, IN
Posts: 698
Default Re: M1 MacMini or High Spec Intel Mac Mini?

Quote:
There's two maxims in life: you can never be too rich and you can never have too much ram. If you use a lot of samples then go with the Intel Mac and 64 GB ram.
You can't have too much RAM, but you can have more than you need. Excess RAM is no benefit whatsoever. 16 GB is probably enough for most uses but who knows.

THe thing is, for most things, either setup would be fine.
I think the Intel is better for now because I don't think PT is AS native just yet, even though it is supported.

THe 2018 Minis were no slouch so to me it comes down to whether 16 GB of RAM is enough or not.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2022, 09:15 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 4,666
Default Re: M1 MacMini or High Spec Intel Mac Mini?

I7 minis can get very noisy, while the M1s are dead silent.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini M1, 16GB RAM. 512GBinternal(3000MB/s),2TB(1300MB/s),2TB(350MB/s)
MacOS 11.6.8. PT 2020.12.1 (Reinstatement on hold for M3 macs and AS native PT)
Topping D50 DAC, Dynaudio BM6p, Artist Mix, SSL UC1, EuControl on iPad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2022, 09:34 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Sopranos State (NJ)
Posts: 19,020
Default Re: M1 MacMini or High Spec Intel Mac Mini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale-c View Post
You can't have too much RAM, but you can have more than you need. Excess RAM is no benefit whatsoever. 16 GB is probably enough for most uses but who knows.

THe thing is, for most things, either setup would be fine.
I think the Intel is better for now because I don't think PT is AS native just yet, even though it is supported.

THe 2018 Minis were no slouch so to me it comes down to whether 16 GB of RAM is enough or not.
You can never have more than you need. Who's to say what is excess ram? If you deal in samplers you need all the ram you can get your hands on. I don't like having to stream off of disk. And if you use more than the stock cache in PT you'll surely want/need all that ram. 16 gig won't cut it - no how no way.


Example: I use Superior Drummer 3 and I like to load everything in a kit into ram. Now I don't have the surround files installed but there's one kit I use that's 13+ gig all in ram. That alone would make 16 gig inadequate. Combine that with other samplers I use and session size and I'm thankful for that 48 gig I have. That you got on with just 16 gig is just your case. Most people here would consider 16 gig a bare minimum.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-23-2022, 07:28 AM
albee1952's Avatar
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 38,292
Default Re: M1 MacMini or High Spec Intel Mac Mini?

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Most people here would consider 16 gig a bare minimum.
This^^^. As for intel vs M1, it seems a shame to invest in outgoing tech
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, HD/Native, 192 IO
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon and MacMini intel! mellotronik Pro Tools | Carbon 5 09-05-2021 06:41 PM
Mbox Mini (3rd gen) not connecting in High Sierra on old Mac Mini or new iMac Hoevelmann FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 04-26-2018 09:49 AM
Mac Mini Spec for FWx Recording lmiller VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 08-31-2013 10:49 AM
High Spec PC not coping with simple sessions Hedleyk General Discussion 11 12-07-2011 04:40 AM
2 MacMini Intel Duos running together with LE. Hummm .... tpthai2 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 06-22-2007 10:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com