Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2022, 08:57 PM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default usb ilok required

I got the protools subscription (easily one of the biggest mistakes of my life). The autorenew was today, and my license dissapeared. When I looked at the forum it appears to say that a physical ilok is required, but I ran for the first month on ilok cloud. How do I get this worthless bug ridden software to reactivate my license. My account says I have a subscription, confirms I was billed, paypal shows the charge. My session literally shutdown in the middle of my session and now I can not open protools again because ilok says there is no license.


I started off on Digital Performer 2.6. I have used MOTU, ADOBE, Sonar, Cakewalk and even previous versions of protools and I can verify NOTHING even comes close to sucking as bad as this software. I just don't have the time to set up a new daw and transfer all my cues and programming to it. This program SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS, I have to reboot every 15 minutes and now I can not even get into it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2022, 11:05 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,713
Default Re: usb ilok required

Did you try ending the cloud session and then creating a new cloud session moving the license into the new session?
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.6.

Pro Tools Ultimate 2021.12, HD Native, Focusrite Red 8Pre (Mac)
Pro Tools 2020.12, Mbox3 (Win)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2022, 03:00 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default Re: usb ilok required

Yes. When I try to activate the license, under the section that says "select a location" the activate button is greyed out and it says "an Ilok USB (2nd generation or later) is required for activation.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2022, 03:33 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: usb ilok required

If, by any chance, you aren’t seeing your iLok Cloud Session in iLok License Manager, click File and choose Open Your Cloud Session.
__________________
Will

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-18-2022, 04:44 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default Re: usb ilok required

The session is open. At exactly 7:59 when my subscription renewed protools shutdiwn and when I try to open it it says I have no active license.

I go into ilok manager, open a session and find the protools subscription. I double click on it and it says lucense statis active. I click the activate button on the right. It brings up another window "select an activation location." The activate button on this menu is greyed out and under select a location it says

"An Ilok USB (2nd generation or later) is required for activation.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2022, 04:56 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default Re: usb ilok required

I deactivated and reactivated the license. It no longer says I need a usb. However when I try to open protools it still says I have no active license. When I open Ilok manager it says my license is active and instslled on ilok cloud. Protools still won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-18-2022, 05:02 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default Re: usb ilok required

How do I reinstall this awful program? It won't even let me do that. When I go to the uninstall utility there is no option to uninstall this program. I am done with this. How does anyone put up with software that is this glitchy and you have to pay for support. Is that there whole profit strategy - make the worst software ever and then make them buy a support plan?

How do I uninstall this garbage?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2022, 05:19 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default Re: usb ilok required

Okay - I figured out how to uninstall this piece of s*#%^ now how do I reinstall so I can export all my cues properly and switch to a new program?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2022, 05:46 AM
Kungfumonk007 Kungfumonk007 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: New York
Posts: 18
Default Re: usb ilok required

Total uninstall and reinstall of this garbage fixed it. Anyone want to suggest better programs I am all ears. Primarily used for composing/programming, heavy heavy use of soft inst (east west composer cloud).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-18-2022, 06:29 AM
Bookerv12 Bookerv12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: No fixed address
Posts: 888
Default Re: usb ilok required

Yeah,
Pro Tools is certainly not for you.
__________________
bookerv12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is iLok Required to run? Xollop Pro Tools 9 6 11-05-2010 09:16 AM
PT LE 7.1--iLok Required for Plug-ins? dedukes 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-16-2007 03:41 AM
ilok required for PC? sssoundsss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-11-2005 08:03 AM
Ilok required? basschair 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-23-2004 02:33 PM
ilok required moustaki 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-05-2004 05:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com