Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2022, 01:39 PM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 250
Default MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

See attached picture or here:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/yg5ushla4i...31104.png?dl=0

The DADman Outputs and Fold downs layout is quite dumb isn't it? We also cannot reorder them except by removing items and re-adding in a different order.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MTRX Ask for feature Screenshot 2022-04-19 231104.jpg (36.4 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Windows 11, Intel i9-12900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX960 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2021.12

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, macOS Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.10, DAPS 3.7.1

HDX2, MTRX Studio & DAD MOM, HD I/O 16x16, Apogee AD/DA 16X/X-HD and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-20-2022, 03:23 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

Some bits of DADman are definitely a little clunky if you only use the GUI. If you have a spare tablet around, you can do some pretty remarkable things with speaker solos using custom soft keys and Eucon commands.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-04-2022, 07:28 AM
Skwaidu Skwaidu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 250
Default Re: MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by LDS View Post
Some bits of DADman are definitely a little clunky if you only use the GUI. If you have a spare tablet around, you can do some pretty remarkable things with speaker solos using custom soft keys and Eucon commands.
Yep, I'm aware of the Control App, but it's only a partial solution and I'd prefer them in the DADman as well, with a better layout and configurability.
__________________
Windows 11, Intel i9-12900K, MSI PRO Z690-A D4, 64 GB DDR4 3200MHz/CL16, Corsair HX1000, 1x PCIe 4.0 1TB, 1x PCIe 3.0 2TB, 2x WD Black 6TB, Noctua NH-D15, Fractal Design Define R6 + GTX960 (for now) - PT Ultimate 2021.12

Used to be/ Spare/ DAPS: Mac Pro 4,1 upgraded to 5,1 3,46Ghz 12 Core, 96GB RAM, OS SSD and Sata3 Audio SSD, macOS Mojave, PT Ultimate 2021.10, DAPS 3.7.1

HDX2, MTRX Studio & DAD MOM, HD I/O 16x16, Apogee AD/DA 16X/X-HD and ICON D-Command ES.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-2022, 03:44 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skwaidu View Post
Yep, I'm aware of the Control App, but it's only a partial solution and I'd prefer them in the DADman as well, with a better layout and configurability.
But if you email DAD, I think you'll find that the Avid control app is the solution to the problem of clustered speaker selections. Brute forcing the fold down functions into doing the same is obviously going to have many drawbacks.

I have sent emails to DAD requesting a bunch of stuff for DADman. Automatic folddowns based on speaker selection. Other users have requested insert functionality to add external speaker processing between source and speaker selectors. A bunch have requested the ability to link speaker selections and fold downs with source selections. That probably isn't remotely the extent of it either, as DADman operates across much of the DAD/NTP lineup in devices with far more complexity, in far more complex installations in broadcast environments than what the MTRX studio can achieve.

Thousands of studios used (and still use) Xmons that don't have any of the functionality you or I have requested. A Trinnov D-Mon will do a bunch of what you want, but it costs 3 to 4 times the price of the MTRX Studio alone in the configurations you would need. The Avid control app is free, immensely configurable, and will run on a hundred buck tablet sitting on your desk. They are the options currently at your finger tips.

Seriously though. Email DAD about it... but I would expect a polite yet firm reply that your request probably doesn't rank with any kind of priority amongst users and their plans for DADman. That is the reply I got too, and sometimes that is just the way it is. Some users want HDX II. Others want Pro Tools Ultimate licenses to cost $1.99. At the end of the day, it has never been about the tools needing to be perfect. It is about solving problems using tools to make great content...
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2022, 07:31 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,828
Default Re: MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

Keep the feedback coming. Your suggestions are not falling on deaf ears.

best,


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Solutions Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
S6 FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2022, 01:55 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,216
Default Re: MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by creativecontrol View Post
Keep the feedback coming. Your suggestions are not falling on deaf ears.

best,


Jeff


Pro Tools Ultimate is going to cost $1.99?



__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2022.7. OSX 12.5.1 HDN. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.3.4.2. Mac Pro iMac Pro. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. BM Decklink. Sync HD. Dolby Mastering Suite 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-08-2022, 02:39 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 758
Default Re: MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

Hahaha. I guess they'll take their time with that one!
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2022.4 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.15.7, PT Ultimate 2022.4 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Mac M1 Studio Ultra 64GB RAM OSX 12.4, PT Ultimate 2022.5 HDn, MTRX Studio, 2x Avid S1, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2022, 09:00 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,071
Default Re: MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

I would love to have a separate time delay setting for each source in the Monitor Profile for video sync offset. I have my Video Sync Offset in Pro Tools, measured using Catchin' Sync, and things are in sync when playing out of Pro Tools. But when I play other content or check my quicktime bounces outside of Pro Tools, with the sound playback coming through DVS, the Video Sync Offset isn't compensated.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-09-2022, 11:20 AM
basehead617 basehead617 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: California
Posts: 186
Default Re: MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalscottyg View Post
I would love to have a separate time delay setting for each source in the Monitor Profile for video sync offset. I have my Video Sync Offset in Pro Tools, measured using Catchin' Sync, and things are in sync when playing out of Pro Tools. But when I play other content or check my quicktime bounces outside of Pro Tools, with the sound playback coming through DVS, the Video Sync Offset isn't compensated.
This is a big issue to me - DVS has been recommended as a way to monitor system sound on the flagship interfaces but it's lacking for this purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-09-2022, 12:12 PM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,071
Default Re: MTRX Studio and DADMan UI issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by basehead617 View Post
This is a big issue to me - DVS has been recommended as a way to monitor system sound on the flagship interfaces but it's lacking for this purpose.
There's a global Delay time per output set in DADman. I suppose that I could set that for my TV and turn it off in Pro Tools, but that will be a hard habit to break after all these years. Also, that probably wouldn't account for the differences between Pro Tools' latency and DVS's latency.
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Metering In Dadman with MTRX Studio Cheesehead Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 18 03-04-2022 06:43 AM
DADman/MTRX Studio sample rate, Avid Control monitoring issues raw Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 8 01-24-2022 08:09 PM
MTRX Studio Not Detected By DADman nsureit Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 8 06-07-2021 07:58 AM
DADman disconnecting from MTRX Studio nedd Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 11 02-12-2021 07:31 AM
MTRX Studio/DADman feature request Reckless Erik Pro Tools | MTRX & MTRX Studio 6 12-25-2020 09:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com