Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S4/S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2022, 09:28 PM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 87
Default S6 with M1 mini

Hello,
Trying to upgrade PT with S6. Went from PT 2019.5 Catalina OS on a cheese grater working great with S6 and Xmon to M1 mini with PT 2022.5 working fine but can't connect with S6. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2022, 04:36 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: S6 with M1 mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubxf View Post
Hello,
Trying to upgrade PT with S6. Went from PT 2019.5 Catalina OS on a cheese grater working great with S6 and Xmon to M1 mini with PT 2022.5 working fine but can't connect with S6. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
With very little information you provided I would suggest the following…

1. Make sure you installed WS Control and it’s running
2. If your using two hardwired networks, make sure you’re choosing the correct network for the S6
3. If your S6 was setup with a static IP, you will most likely need to assign this IP address in your Mac Network settings.

Here’s a good resource
https://resources.avid.com/SupportFi...rking_2021.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2022, 04:45 AM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 87
Default Re: S6 with M1 mini

Thank you for your response. Yes the latest version of WS control is running.
The same ethernet cable (direct connection) that works with the old computer is moved to the mac mini and WS shows !
I think it was using DHCP with the old system. Does the S6 need an updated software or firmware?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2022, 04:57 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,038
Default Re: S6 with M1 mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubxf View Post
Thank you for your response. Yes the latest version of WS control is running.
The same ethernet cable (direct connection) that works with the old computer is moved to the mac mini and WS shows !
I think it was using DHCP with the old system. Does the S6 need an updated software or firmware?
You provided no version numbers so it’s hard to know if anything needs updating or flashing. Did you download the latest S6 software if you’re on a current S6 support plan?

More info here…
https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...vid-S6-Support
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-21-2022, 05:00 AM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 87
Default Re: S6 with M1 mini

No the issue is that the S6 support plan stopped in 2020
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-21-2022, 05:15 AM
ubxf ubxf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 87
Default Re: S6 with M1 mini

The old working system had 2019 Versions of PT and S6. The new set up has latest PT 2022.5 and Eucon 2022.4 but S6 is still with the 2019 configuration
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox Mini (3rd gen) not connecting in High Sierra on old Mac Mini or new iMac Hoevelmann FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 0 04-26-2018 09:49 AM
Mac Pro 12Core vs Mac Mini 4Core.. Mac Mini wins Venshield General Discussion 12 12-06-2017 07:32 PM
FS: Apple Mac mini 2012 quad i7 2.6 in Sonnet XMAC MINI SERVER rack Jamie Mac Buy & Sell 1 07-02-2017 11:50 AM
Am I Missing Something?! Mbox Mini, Mac Mini, Shockingly Bad gunark 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 12-07-2010 12:58 PM
Any Mbox2 Mini/MAC Mini Intel Users? Need help with Reason Mbox2digi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-31-2007 07:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com